Earshot The Silver Lining
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
foreverendeared
August 24th 2008



14678 Comments


really really well written review, almost made me want to listen to this, but then i remembered how much i disliked these guys before

MonorailCat
August 24th 2008



118 Comments


I remember years ago when I got Two. I'll be sure to check this, not expecting much though.

Altmer
August 25th 2008



5652 Comments


I want to raise a question?

Why do cd's by more "generic" sounding bands deserve less attention than ones by "obscure" sounding bands?

Isn't the point to tell whether the music is le suck or le rule?

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2008



17920 Comments


no the point is jom

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2008



17920 Comments


hey jom while i have you within earshot, can you make me a news mod for six months to teach me some responsibility

Jom
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2008



2634 Comments


not as good as "I would be Pennywise to get my Nickelback" but a well-played pun nonetheless
mx got rid of the news mod position awhile ago. if you wanted responsibility, you shouldn't have withdrawn your staff application! at least four or five staffers wanted you to win, but you withdrew for some weird reason.

Altmer
August 25th 2008



5652 Comments


That's what I would want out of a review, but some people have Tom DeLonge-sized egos and make wild claims about people not doing it for the music.


i review for the money and the groupies collectively sucking my cock

it's true

reviewing is a hard life

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2008



17920 Comments


i just hope we can still be friends jom

Jom
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2008



2634 Comments


I never realized our status was in question until these jokers pulled such stunts.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2008



17920 Comments


i didn't either! it appears we have been taken for the proverbial ride

i love you jom

IAmInsect
August 26th 2008



3800 Comments


i cannot adequately express my love for someone until someone tells me how to type that heart

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2008



17920 Comments


just close your eyes and let it happen

Omio
January 5th 2009



28 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent review, very analytical, taking into consideration the previous trend the band followed and where this album stands on the artist's career. Good writing!

As for The Silver Lining, excellent follow-up to Two. Jom is right to say that Closer and Missunderstood are the most noticeable moments in the album, but I do not agree with the statement claiming that this album is more downtempo when compared to Two and Letting Go.

There is some sort of party feel to many songs on this album, being fast, energetic and catchy, which for me was an interesting addition to the Earshot concept. Two was more melodic and less energetic, almost too introspective and depressive. Some examples that could be cited as energetic fast songs on The Silver Lining: Don't Hate Me, I Hate You and More Than I Ever Wanted.

Bottom line, excellent review, very good album, nothing close to a disappointment.
This Message Edited On 01.05.09

kintups
March 27th 2009



491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The more I listen to it, the better I like it. This may be their best album, although it kills me to say so 'cause the older albums had some wicked tracks.

nickg42084
September 15th 2012



88 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album from an underrated band that wrongfully gets clumped into the radio rock/numetal genres.

pizzamachine
September 15th 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup, love this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy