Finch (US) Finch
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
July 22nd 2008


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think this ep is definitely a grower!

i just listened to it about 15 times and it's getting better and better. my first thought was quite similar to yours, but it really grew on me!

track four is epic!
I've listened to this quite a bit (the internet is wonderful) already and it has grown a little bit (from average to good), but in no way did I think this was a 5. I will kind of agree and say that track four at least gives some hope for the next full-length.This Message Edited On 07.22.08

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

Athom
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2008


17222 Comments


Everything I've read didn't really mention a physical CD release


There is going to be a physical release of this next week, but sadly it will only be available in hot topic stores.

SpinLightTwo
July 22nd 2008


1043 Comments


The two songs on their myspace weren't impressive as a whole, but there were some redeeming qualities (the ones that leaned toward the sound of Say Hello To Sunshine).

StrizzMatik
July 22nd 2008


3204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great EP. I like it a lot.

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

ToWhatEnd
July 22nd 2008


3172 Comments


Good review. Finch is one of the bands I only listened to singles from, mainly What It Is To Burn. I feel like I should acquire their debut.

nikotine9
July 23rd 2008


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

maybe finch is just experimenting on what to make their new album sound like

like they scan these types of review sites and see the feedback and make an album according to what the peeps like

thats why they combined them into one ep

maybe maybe?

ataraxia01
July 23rd 2008


215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

[quote="nikotine9"] maybe finch is just experimenting on what to make their new album sound like

like they scan these types of review sites and see the feedback and make an album according to what the peeps like

thats why they combined them into one ep

maybe maybe? [/quote]


no


taylormemer
July 23rd 2008


4917 Comments


What a hypothesis! Too bad it's flawed.

StrizzMatik
July 23rd 2008


3204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review. Finch is one of the bands I only listened to singles from, mainly What It Is To Burn. I feel like I should acquire their debut.

You should definitely get Say Hello To Sunshine as it's a lot better.

foreverendeared
July 23rd 2008


14678 Comments


great review. the song off this they had on their myspace (not sure if it's still on there) i like a whole lot, but not enough to interest me in getting this

nikotine9
July 24th 2008


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wow shut down..

oh well

daylight rules!

ataraxia01
July 24th 2008


215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

why isnt there more interest in this cd?

Willie
Moderator
July 25th 2008


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm embarrassed to admit that I figured out where the "You can't be everything for everyone" line on my summary came from... it came from Slipknot's "People=Shit" song. I was listening to it on the way to work this morning, and I heard that line and thought "fuck".

why isnt there more interest in this cd?
Maybe because a lot of people still think the band is broken up? Maybe because it's not all that good?

StrizzMatik
July 25th 2008


3204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I sorta disagree with the review. These songs are a far cry from the standard musicianship/songwriting of WIITB. Yeah there's pop hooks and less screaming, but musically this sounds a lot like SHTS. "Daylight" is a great opener/single, "From Hell" has one of the best choruses Finch has ever wrote IMO, and "Famine Or Disease" has a pretty awesome/intense bridge. Not to mention that "Chinese Organ Thieves" might just be the best song they've written yet. It's not as good as SHTS, but it's better than WIITB and the most musically matured release yet from this band.


Willie
Moderator
July 26th 2008


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

These songs are a far cry from the standard musicianship/songwriting of
WIITB.
Right, they're a mixture of the two albums ;)
Not to mention
that "Chinese Organ Thieves" might just be the best song they've written
yet.
It's definitely up near the top.
It sounds to me like you should write a second review for this This Message Edited On 07.26.08

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this rules

Willie
Moderator
July 29th 2008


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I keep listening, but my opinion hasn't changed. I was just hoping for something similar to either album, but not something similar to both. It lost something by doing that.

StrizzMatik
July 30th 2008


3204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It sounds to me like you should write a second review for this

I may just do so, sir.

Willie
Moderator
July 30th 2008


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I look forward to it.

ataraxia01
July 30th 2008


215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

no one ever mentions worms of the earth for some reason. that is one of my favorite finch songs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy