Black Kids Partie Traumatic
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
astrel
July 28th 2008


2614 Comments


if pitchfork knew better they would put that picture up on a lot more of their reviews.

Mando86
July 31st 2008


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

According to this site:

Indestructible by Disturbed - 3.5 (great)

Partie Traumatic by Black Kids - 1.5 (very poor)

F*ck you, Sputnik.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2008


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

hey babe, asl?

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

Polaris
July 31st 2008


246 Comments


Fuck, the hipsters are fighting back.

AtavanHalen
July 31st 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Devon will go to heaven and become a ghost in your underwear.

Spare
August 2nd 2008


5306 Comments


Album Rating: 5
Are you that impressionable?

Digging: Best Witches - Wishes

ndola
August 5th 2008


2 Comments


Really poor review. Obviously this reviewer had some opinions about 'Black Kids' even before listening to the album. Just read the summary: "These guys are named Black Kids. How edgy." Ah, sarcasm. That makes a person look intelligent, right? The reviewer began his review by saying he disliked their name? Opinions that have nothing to do with the music aren't valuable in cd reviews... its like saying "I didn't like the album artwork." Who cares?
I like sputnik because the reviewers generally seem like objective music fans rather than pretentious critics (like pitchfork can be) -- critics who seem to think their reviews are something more than simple opinions. Any reviewer that starts on a "rant" thinks his opinion is more valuable than it actually is.
The cd is far from perfect. Yeah, it's overproduced, and the lyrics are weird, but it's catchy and interesting enough to deserve a listen. It got stuck in my cd player for weeks.
3.5

SpinLightTwo
August 5th 2008


1041 Comments


nevermindThis Message Edited On 08.05.08

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2008


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Really poor review. Obviously this reviewer had some opinions about 'Black Kids' even before listening to the album. Just read the summary: "These guys are named Black Kids. How edgy." Ah, sarcasm. That makes a person look intelligent, right? The reviewer began his review by saying he disliked their name? Opinions that have nothing to do with the music aren't valuable in cd reviews... its like saying "I didn't like the album artwork." Who cares?

I like sputnik because the reviewers generally seem like objective music fans rather than pretentious critics (like pitchfork can be) -- critics who seem to think their reviews are something more than simple opinions. Any reviewer that starts on a "rant" thinks his opinion is more valuable than it actually is.


ok we've established i have an opinion, so what's your point?This Message Edited On 08.05.08

brandtweathers
August 5th 2008


2007 Comments


his point is that, he too, is a black kid

ndola
August 6th 2008


2 Comments


The review was subjective and the opinions were rants without any substance.
Example: "Their extreme desire to make a “sexy” record is palpable, resulting in several lyrics and songs that lack any emotional depth, which serves as a key aspect to why Partie Traumatic is such a mess."
Ok, they wanted to make a sexy album and their "lyrics AND songs" lack emotional depth... were they attempting emotional depth? The songs are goofy and self-deprecating. You state a subjective opinion that has no foundation and then use it to back up your "key aspect" of why the album sucks. Your logic is off.
Later: "Youngblood destroys it with an earnest cry of ”I took something and it feels like karate; it's kicked me down and left me for dead!” Pretensions like that are what destroy Partie Traumatic. Simply put: Black Kids think they’re hot shit "
Right, an "earnest cry" of "it feels like karate!" Something tells me that 'ole Reggie wasn't trying to show depth and sincerity (a.k.a. earnestness) with this line. That lyric is like the opposite of pretension (trying to sound smart and sophisticated)...
"I’m forced to conclude this is largely due to the fact American Society can still be shocked by the racial exploitation in naming one’s band Black Kids"
Social commentary? seriously? Now that's kinda pretentious.
It's not personal. I'd just like to see an impartial review. I'd say the album achieves what it was seeking -- fun. There aren't many bands out there that just have fun, right? After another listen... I'll give it a 4.0.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2008


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I guess I like emotional depth in my songs, it makes me want to listen to them again .

astrel
August 6th 2008


2614 Comments


hmm....I bet if you keep the argument with ndola going it can be raised to a 4.5!

SHOOTME
August 6th 2008


2393 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

just listened to this, pretty damn awful.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2008


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"I’m forced to conclude this is largely due to the fact American Society can still be shocked by the racial exploitation in naming one’s band Black Kids"
I say this because I can't see why anyone would be paying attention to these guys other than their name. The music's bland, the lyrics are terrible, and even though you say I'm not getting how this album's not supposed to be "serious," just "fun," I had no fun listening to it.

plane
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2008


6094 Comments


oh hay ec supThis Message Edited On 08.06.08

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2008


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

nm lewis just respondin to noobs cuz i cant help myself

timothyzha
August 29th 2008


23 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i'm not gonna teach your boyfriend is good.. hurricane jane is good.
that's about it.

NotMrBlonde
August 30th 2008


395 Comments


Oh God. I'm listening to this Boyfriend song and there's no words that describe how bad it is.

AtavanHalen
August 30th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Boyfriend's actually my favourite on this record.
I can happily accept this as weightless pop music, but I enjoyed it for a little while nonetheless. Haven't listened to it in full for awhile, not sure if I could to be honest.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy