Thursday War All the Time
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Scarch
January 30th 2011



4 Comments


Where's their split with Envy?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/bands/Thursday-Envy/11014/

Or did you mean where is my review of it?

Magus
April 7th 2011



55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Steps Ascending is amazing.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not a huge fan of it. In a way, that song & the closer are barometers for this album. Like them 2 & you'll love the album.

zlenn45
April 13th 2011



4 Comments


Interesting that you say a let down for a follow up.... this album is much more promising than Full Collapse even on a first listen...its lyrical and melodic depth extends beyond the genre. For the Workforce, Drowning....amazing...can jam to that song any day...think it really speaks to anyone in the working environment...wait...that should be everyone...

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"let down" is all relative of course, but obviously I disagree that this is more promising than 'Full Collapse'. I'd say the lyrics are a slight step up, but I actually preferred the melodic hooks of the rawer 'FC'.

Some of the things that Thursday learnt from recording this album definitely worked in their favor down the track.

Itwasthatwas
May 10th 2011



762 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

other than the title track this is really meh

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The title track & Division Street definitely stand out for me.

dimsim3478
May 21st 2011



4735 Comments


War all the time
In the shadow of a New York skyline
We grew up to fast
Falling apart
Like the ashes of American flags...


God, I love that song. Easily my standout on the album.

Digging: My Psychoanalyst - Choreomania

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed. The song that grew on me from this LP was 'Marches and Maneuvers'.

dimsim3478
May 21st 2011



4735 Comments


I just adore this album. It and Full Collapse were essential stepping stones in my discovery of post-hardcore.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I think one or both of Thursday's albums would be that for many people. I'd rank 'FC' right up there for me.

dimsim3478
May 21st 2011



4735 Comments


Absolutely. I'm surprised to see that No Devolucion still has a higher average rating than Full Collapse. I would have thought that, even in spite of the fact that Devolucion has, like, seven hundred less votes than Collapse, the average rating would have dropped to at least a four point one.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's just because it's new. In general, album ratings drop over time.

Quen
July 19th 2011



1633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Immense.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I presume you are not talking about my review. LOL.

tkxxx7
September 8th 2011



6152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Davey, I am disappoint.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm always sorry to disappoint man.

cb123
November 16th 2011



1993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this and full collapse are about equal in my books, love em both

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2011



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They're apparently playing 'Full Collapse' in full when they tour Oz in Feb.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy