My Chemical Romance I Brought You My Bullets...
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ilikemusicthatsucks
July 1st 2008


1063 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

About to unwrap the combo and watch their Mexico City performance


God damn you lol I haven't got it yet. Let me know how freakin sweet it is.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm with ya Dave, but opinion is opinion I suppose. My guess (another assumption) is some people prefer music that is different and further away from the mainstream. This could get us back to our little difference of opinion between the two 30 Seconds to Mars albums... Haha. The Fall Out Boy example of yours is perfect (although I'm glad you listed F.U.T.C.T and not Infinity On High). I can list quite a few other bands where I prefer their more recent stuff, but many believe they have got worse.
Mike (TOWHATEND) & Smiley, thanks for the positive feedback on the review. And it won't be long until I'm breaking out the MCR DVD as well. I saw them live twice in 2007 & hopefully the energy of those performances can be accurately reflected on the DVD.

ToWhatEnd
July 1st 2008


3172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I saw them live twice in 2007 & hopefully the energy of those performances can be accurately reflected on the DVD.
Same here on their Black Parade headline tour with Muse and Projekt Revolution how about you?

AtavanHalen
July 1st 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'll defend Inifinity On High- it really wasn't THAT bad- but I still prefer Cork Tree overall. The first 30STM just had more balls, more diversity- it was genuinely interesting and consistent. A Beautiful Lie has its moments, certainly, and it's a good album; but overall self-titled is better to me.
And damn you all, I want that MCR DVD! Davey, come up here and we'll watch it together.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I reside down under Mike, so unfortunately I had to go see Muse separately (although they were here around the same time). What a tandem that would have been for you. The support act at one of the concerts was a local band, while the other was Circa Survive.

Dave, I agree Infinity on High is not that bad. Like you, I just think it is a little disappointing step down from Cork Tree. Oh, don't get me started on the debut 30STM having diversity. We'll agree to disagree on that. As for watching the DVD with you, I think paying for the DVD/CD may be cheaper than paying for the airfare mate.This Message Edited On 07.01.08

AtavanHalen
July 1st 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It was The Shitaway Plan, from recollection.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haha. The Getaway Plan were indeed on as a 2nd support before Circa Survive for their arena tour. From memory, the Aussie band that supported them earlier in 2007 were called Ground Components, but I am only going from (my bad) memory and stand to be corrected.
I personally don't mind what I have heard of The Getaway Plan, but haven't heard enough to fully comment.

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 1st 2008


1063 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

God all you guys get to go to the awesome shows. I missed MCR like three frickin times. And I guess that means I'll never get to witness the Black Parade set up/show, since apparently it's "DEAD" now.

Hopefully they don't pull a PATD and do a so-called "stripped down" show now, meaning it is absolutely no fun with no volume and no awesome props and shit.This Message Edited On 07.01.08

kattunlover69
July 2nd 2008


1194 Comments


gerald looks so hawt in the dvd live performances with his wet hair covering his forehead oh god

Smileyface
July 2nd 2008


309 Comments


^lol

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ilikemusicthatsucks, nowadays you can't wait for bands to come back around your way. Jump in & seize the moment buddy. Or else they may go all PATDisco on you. Somehow, I doubt it with MCR.
As for your comments kattunlover69, forgive me if I chuckle & let them be. Haha.

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 2nd 2008


1063 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

^Yeah I mean their whole style relies on a certain darkness so I domt see it totally leaving.This Message Edited On 07.02.08

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2008


8010 Comments


I completely agree with you on this CD. There are many songs that have potential, but it is not ever realized because the production is TERRIBLE. Great review, as well.

Digging: Beach Slang - Cheap Thrills On A Dead End Street

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for the agreement CURSEWORSHIP. It was one of the main reasons why I wrote the review as I was a little surprised as to how well the album has rated on this site and how most of the reviews rated it highly.
Stay tuned for the band's next 2 albums...


Cesar
July 3rd 2008


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review was good I'll pos. I love some songs of this album, but the album as a whole lacks luster and needs more energy.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 3rd 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for the positive feedback CESAR21. It's almost strange you saying the album needs more energy as even most detractors of the band admit they have energy. While I agree with you, I think the energy may be there on this album, it's just that the production (or mixing and/or editing) don't bring it out.

Wapaxalypse
September 23rd 2010


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly, in my opinion I like the raw, lack of production, garage sound on this album, don't really like how poppy and clean the sound of Three Cheers was, and liked the diversity of The Black Parade.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

To each their own. We're hearing the same thing at least, just thinking different things of it.

ZippaThaRippa
November 30th 2010


2434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Whoa dude, Skylines and Turnstiles is awesome and Early Sunsets is their worst song EVER period

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I just skip the both of them. Local bands can do better than that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy