The Offspring Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SylentEcho
October 28th 2008



1570 Comments


The Offspring are old punks. Give them a break.

Bsquared
December 4th 2008



1 Comments


Dave seems like a guy who has a pudgy for the Offspring anyway. You should just say that up front. As for me, I bought it, I like it, and find your negative reviews uninspired and mundane. The hooks are there, the lyrics still full of social criticism, and if the next one sucks as bad as you say this does, I'll be happy to come back and slam you again. Get over yourself.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2008



2657 Comments


It's hip to Bsquared.

CrazyFool84
December 7th 2008



1080 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I generally agree with the majority of Dave's reviews, but I gotta go with a large chunk of these comments in saying it's pretty offbase. I'm not saying this is a fantastic record by any means, but the review comes across awfully biased and like you formed an opinion on the album before you went into the listening phase.

I think this one should get some sort of bonus points for being the least "Offspring" of their albums, good to hear a slight change from them.

Phantom
December 7th 2008



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Now dance fucker dance!

I like the first half of this album, but the second half tends to drag.This Message Edited On 12.07.08

CrazyFool84
December 12th 2008



1080 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Alright, eating my words warrented another post rather than an edit. Wow, I guess I needed a few more spins to discover it for myself, but you were right again Dave. There are still a few songs on here that I find somewhat entertaining (mainly You're Gonna Go Far Kid and Let's Hear it For Rock Bottom) but as a whole I understand your review completely now.

As for the bonus points I gave them for not sounding like themselves on this one...yeah, I'm taking those away, cause I never wanted them to sound like some other band rather than themselves. There's no reinvention here, just mimicing.

ConorMichaelJoseph
January 16th 2009



1870 Comments


By far their most disappointing album, though I have yet to hear their debut. The reissue is out of print according to Wikipedia This Message Edited On 01.17.09

fromtheinside
July 20th 2009



17911 Comments


"show me how to lie, you're getting better all the time..."
how can you not dance to this?

Digging: Coroner - No More Color

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2009



28374 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

album is so acesome

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

LaughingSkull
December 9th 2009



216 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I agree with the review. Bland music, bland lyrics, lack of originality, lack of feeling, lack of attitude. That cannot possibly be the favourite band of my childhood...

Regardless, I think you could've at least mentioned the album's few merits, such as "You're Gonna Go Far Kid". Not that it makes the album any better, but at least it would've made your review more exhaustive.

Good job.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2009



28374 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"bland lyrics, lack of originality, lack of feeling, lack of attitude" last time I checked this is
what got them into trouble with "Splinter"

the uninformed public is so wishy-washy...band is the same band, puts the same energy into their
shows, makes the same albums for the same fans. I basically love everything they put out, its just a
question of what do I love most. while it's not this album, rise and fall is still pretty great.



EVedder27
December 9th 2009



6088 Comments


album really isn't terrible

PuddlesPuddles
December 9th 2009



4772 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nah, it's merely good

Parallels
December 9th 2009



6641 Comments


oh god that person who rage commented on the first page made me lol so bad ahahahahah

Meatplow
December 13th 2009



5524 Comments


grew on me a lot

chirky
December 22nd 2009



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol robandrew06!!! You are absulutely on the money mate... Songs like Nothingtown, You're gonna go far, kid, Hammerhead, Shit is f**ked up are champion songs!!! There seem to be too many cynical wankers that just write reviews to bag on people!!! Get a life man!!!

Douchebag
December 22nd 2009



3624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree. There was nothing wrong with this album and it was easily the most consistent since americana.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 22nd 2009



31050 Comments


Never really got into these guys, aside from Ixnay way back in the day.

Digging: Marcel Dettmann - Fabric 77

JesseZojo
January 6th 2010



11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ah..the album was good. The only beef I had with it was the songs risked sounding too similar.

But, I can't deny the goodness of the first three tracks.

Crymsonblaze
February 13th 2010



7479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I highly disagree with this review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy