The Offspring Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Truht
June 26th 2008


1 Comments


this album sucks so bad it hurts. It hurts because for years I was the only Offspring fanatic everywhere I went, defending them with everything they did. Even thought it became harder to do so with Splinter, I went out bought the CD, and proudly stood by Hit That. But this is the last straw, I can't defend this crap, the CD is ok if Dexter Holland was working on a sex change for the last 5 years and married Noodles. I love you guys GET YOUR FU*-$NG ACT TOGETHER.!!

Shattered_Future
June 26th 2008


1541 Comments


I like this. This is a better attempt at "mature" Offspring than Splinter was. As for the lyrics, I could care less about them. The music is fairly good.

CushMG15
June 26th 2008


1803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have to disagree about this being their worst. I found Splinter to be pretty brutal. It's a 2.5/3 for me.

cleary21
June 27th 2008


671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i lisented to this again its pretty awsome i think all of you who are bashing it just dont like bands evolving cause thats what bands do they change over time to make their sound better. it doesnt always work but this one did so anyone who gave it below a three can shove it and the dude who went on a huge rant ur the boss

robandrew06
June 27th 2008


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I just realised I wrote whoever wrote this "song" is a prick which may have undermiend my whole rant and made me look pretty dumb lol. woooops.

NotMrBlonde
June 28th 2008


395 Comments


It wasn't using the word "song" that made you look like a dumbass.

Great review, man.This Message Edited On 06.28.08

ruambivalence
July 5th 2008


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd ask Dave to listen to every Offspring cd again before assuming that they're copying any other band. The new cd basically is a combination of everything the offspring has done before and has done incredibly well. You either like them or you don't but your review is complete bullshit and you should be ashamed of yourself. Pull coldplay out of your disc changer before you start a review on a band like The Offspring. Stop cumming on your American Idiot cd too. Any time a punk band tries to get political, it ALWAYS comes out half ass and uneducated, at least the offspring has fun with it. Green Day just gets emo about politics.

cleary21
July 8th 2008


671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think we all just need to chill out we're all friends here we all know the dude who reviewed this knows what hes doing and hes entitled to his opinion even if it makes him look like a total prick

100percentVitaminC
July 9th 2008


47 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Very disappointing. But I'll give it a few more listens to let it sink in.

cleary21
July 11th 2008


671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

and yo this is really late but the dude who listens to coldplay is obviously a complete flamer, or he's bipolar who listens to coldplay and punk like seriouslyThis Message Edited On 07.11.08

Otisbum
July 11th 2008


1912 Comments


Could you explain how to act like an Emotional Hardcore Punk,or explain the similarities between those songs and an actual emo band like Circle Takes the Square's songs?
A fag is a cigarette in Britain.

Deal with the fact that a word can mean multiple things.
Goth is a stereotype and an artistic style. Why can't emo be a stereotype and a genre of music?

The Sludge
July 11th 2008


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

People seriously needs to calm the fuck down on the review. I like the album, but at the same time I could see how anyone else wouldn't like the album. There is nothing in the review that is biased or makes him sound like a "prick." So get over the fact that someone will have a different opinion than you.
Great review by the way. Alot more detailed than mine and discusses my major flaw with the album (the lyrics), which I didn't get a chance to elaborate on.

100percentVitaminC
July 13th 2008


47 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Saddening. This album does not improve with each listen.

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 15th 2008


1063 Comments


Not gonna lie I actually did find that funny haha but I'm a lamer.

backinhindsight
July 17th 2008


198 Comments


I thought it was funny as well.

Other than that I liked the album, cheesy pop-punk ftw!

StrizzMatik
August 3rd 2008


3211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Awesome review. I don't think it's a 1.5, but it's low low standard for this band regardless.

Digging: Lagwagon - Hang

andiamo
September 26th 2008


9 Comments


great review, but i tend to think different :D after my 20th listen, the first 5 tracks really sound great, but i agree the latter half kinda sucks... i miss the smash-era offspring

nobodyblossomsforever
September 28th 2008


63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

robandrew06, you are a complete and utter retard. its a review, the reviewer is entitled to his/her opinion, not every review is supposed to praise what's being reviewed. damn

anyway, i can see why people wouldn't like this album, it's definitely not their best. i'd listen to old offspring any day, but i actually like "hammerhead" and "half truism". the other songs are alright to. its not a horrible album imo, but their older stuff is def better

bastard
September 28th 2008


3435 Comments


then why did you give it a 5?

Zippermouth
October 18th 2008


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It seems like at this point he's just insulting them. No, the Offspring is not especially talented but at least some of their songs of this album were good.

I think it is kind of disappointing how much they rip off other bands though: Did anyone notice how the opener of "Fix you" sounds like "Wake Me Up When September Ends?"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy