Rise Against The Sufferer and the Witness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2008


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Well argued TOWHATEND... And you actually brought up a good point which I should have made mention of and that is the slight female touch to 'The Approaching Curve'.
As for comparisons to 'Siren Song...', the biggest difference for me is that the highlights are more memorable & will have you coming back more often in the case of 'The Sufferer & The Witness'.

SlowlyFallingAwake
December 12th 2009


78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review is very well done. Personally, I'd rather go for a 4,5 than a 5, I just feel Siren Song more. But yeah, that's just a matter of opinion Anyway, RA is sublime in many ways, and it's good to see other people appreciate them so much too. I'm a bit in trouble, writing a 5-star review as well but it turned out to have become too long. So now, I'm pretty amazed how you packed your point of view in a relatively (well, it IS a 5-star) short review.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 14th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, that's the tough thing writing a review for an album you love... You just want to keep writing & writing & writing. How the hell I just kept my review for Emery's new album at 4 paragraphs is beyond me!

SlowlyFallingAwake
December 15th 2009


78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And beyond me too :D But I'll keep on working at it, and hopefully I'll be able to put it up soon.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, just keep on refining way. Try to get multiple points in the one paragraph instead of stretching them over 2 paragraphs. Things like that can be done.

Is the review for 'Siren Song' or this, or a completely different album?

SlowlyFallingAwake
December 16th 2009


78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A completely different album actually. It's a review for AFI's Sing The Sorrow (Yes, completely different, but by no means easier to write a review of). I first tried track-by-track, but that didn't turn out the way I thought it would (like I said, much too long). Like you suggested, maybe I'd better avoid beating around the bush and say as much as possible in less words. Thanks for the advice;)

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ahhh good old 'Sing The Sorrow'. I've been listening to 'Crash Love' for a lot of the past week actually.

Definitely don't do a track by track. Try grouping songs instead. If 3 or 4 are relatively similar, write about them in a paragraph & then list them (maybe even in brackets).

SlowlyFallingAwake
December 23rd 2009


78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've also been listening to it, do you like it? I think it's definitely better than DU, and a fun listen, it never bores. Still I can't really decide on how to rate it.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

'Crash Love' is probably a solid 3.5 for me, but not quite good enough to get on my year-end list. I love 'Torch Song'... That may make my year-end song list.

I don't mind DU... I think it gets a lot more $hit than it deserves. The band were very brave to diverge from their earlier sound so much. But yeah, I think I prefer 'CL' better.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2010


7423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

just got this, liking so far

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Finally, Ali.

But whattaya mean just a 4? ;-)

joshieboy12345
March 22nd 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agreed Davey, this is a definite 5. Amazing album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2013


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

A+mazing.

NeoSpaz
April 6th 2013


4519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great amazing fantastic

Vakarian12
September 27th 2013


3921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Injection rules

Artuma
September 27th 2013


15938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

catchy

Digging: Taake - Stridens hus

Rowan5215
September 27th 2013


28792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Artuma didn't you say in your leaving list that you shouldn't have given this record a 3 because you fucking loved it?
Just sayin

Digging: Sharon Van Etten - Are We There

Artuma
September 27th 2013


15938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i know, i think i'll 4 it

Rowan5215
September 27th 2013


28792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn straight

Artuma
September 27th 2013


15938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea man



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy