Rise Against Siren Song of the Counter Culture
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ninjuice
April 1st 2009



6759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just with shinier production and more pop-friendly aesthetics with each album.

Rise Against are like Dark Tranquillity, they don't have to evolve much at all to stay awesome.
I listened to "The Sufferer and the Witness" finally and it is really good. It kind of sucks that I've always ignored this band until now.

123!!!!!

Digging: Robin Skouteris - The King of ArtPOP

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dunno Trey. My writing experience & feedback tends to suggest that readers prefer shorter paragraphs... Especially a demographic that (dare I say) has a rather short attention span. But content is content no matter how many paragraphs there are, so it's much of a muchness I guess.

Great to hear that you have given 'The Sufferer & The Witness' a listem. And if you are anything like me, it will only grown on you as the lyrics sink in.

Steve, I saw your Sound-Off on 'Appeal To Reason' the other day and (believe it or not), I disagreed. How abnormal am I? I do not think it is their worst (or 2nd worst) release!

Willie
Moderator
April 1st 2009



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, I wasn't referring to whether or not readers prefer shorter paragraphs. I was referring to the fact that when I try for shorter paragraphs they end up uncontrolled and disjointed.

Have you listened to those Red albums yet?

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

upagainstthewall
April 1st 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought appeal to reason was quite strong. At first i thought it was garbage, but after a couple of listen's it nestled into 3rd favourite. First being Sufferer then siren then appeal only just. then RPM

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ahhh, I misunderstood Trey. You'll have to see a Writing Doctor about that problem! And nah, I haven't listened to Red as yet. I'm actually in the middle of a trio of non-rock albums that I want to review over the next fortnight, so I don't want to ruin the flow/mood by re-acquainting myself with guitars. Haha.

I'm probably with you upagainstthewall, although I currently have 'Appeal To Reason' rated higher than 'Siren Song'. I'm unsure it will stay that way though.

ninjuice
April 1st 2009



6759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't heard The Unraveling yet, but I'm gonna stand by my statement. Everything from this band is great, but AtR just isn't as consistently good as Siren Song, which is third best. Maybe The Unraveling is actually their weakest I dunno.
I'm gonna delete that soundoff anyways cause I'm never gonna be happy with it.
.This Message Edited On 04.01.09

upagainstthewall
April 1st 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I found that the Unraveling was thier weakest.
Appeal is hard to judge because it does have a bit of filler. But the good songs are amazing

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Everything from this band is great". Now I'm certain Sputnik users would bet their life savings (which probably averages out to $50) on me thinking the same. But do I? Hmmm.

I dunno, I find AtR fairly consistent myself. There isn't a song I skip when listening to that album. Lord knows who picked 'Audience Of One' as the 2nd single however!

upagainstthewall
April 2nd 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

entertainment and post emerika (whateva way they spell it) just doesnt make me tingle like Savior and The dirt whisper....

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There is no doubting that 'Savior' is head and shoulders above the rest, but what I meant was that there is no song on AtR which is bad enough to want to skip over (unless the lyrics of 'Hero of War' put you off).

And I think you'll find that 'Collapse (Post Amerika)' will really grow on you, especially when Tim yells "When the air that we breathe becomes air that we choke".

upagainstthewall
April 2nd 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha ill take your wordd for it.
I thought the lyrics from 'Hero of War' were really good. Unlike a lot of people on this site

rasputin
April 2nd 2009



14516 Comments


They're decent but aren't amazing or anything. Very simple, really.

upagainstthewall
April 2nd 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no no.. im not saying there spectacular... but very good

Douchebag
April 2nd 2009



3624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album took me a while. I was used to the later albums and so I thought state of the union was rubbish and the screaming was just lame.
However with repeated listens I absolutley adore this album.

upagainstthewall
April 2nd 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

here here

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Here here x2.

I can't believe someone just brought up the lyrics of 'Hero of War' and no-one came in with.....l

Douchebag
April 5th 2009



3624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He pissed in my hands. (or something to that effect)

upagainstthewall
April 5th 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They took off his clothes
They pissed in his hands
I told them to stop
But then I joined in


DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, it took 3 days, but Croc came through with the goods!

upagainstthewall
April 6th 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

...And so did the western bulldogs! haha
sorry i just had to rub it in a little ; )



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy