Sick Puppies Dressed Up as Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Vooligan
January 21st 2009


3541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As for Shimon's (oh God, that name) voice, it is such a fine line between him sounding really good or really bad. Thankfully, he learnt to control it more here & knows when to change his tone for the betterment of the individual song.

Very true.
We never hear from them because apart from that Australia Day gig they did a couple of years ago (i think) that was on TV, they havnt really attempted to make any inroads here, so the vast majority of people have just forgotten about them. Anyways thats my take on it.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I remember 'My World' got a fair amount of airplay on video music shows here a while after it came out, but otherwise I think they just did a lot of toruing in the U.S. Hell, while I'm sure they did, I can't even recall seeing ads for them touring Aus for this album!

Vooligan
January 21st 2009


3541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dont get up early enough to watch the music video shows so i wouldnt know, interestingly enough i did get up early once and watched video hits, thats when i discovered TBE, was a great moment haha.
Did they tour for it here? I cant really remember anything promoting the album in Australia except them ending up on the news for that free hugs thingo and then ages after it was released that live show thing at parliament house.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha. The Butterfly Effect on Video Hits just seems soooo wrong!
Meh, maybe they didn't tour the album here... Or the gigs were so small that they may as well never.

Vooligan
January 21st 2009


3541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it was A Slow Descent, must have been one of the only times it was ever played. Funny thing is, if that hadnt happened, nickelback and creed would probably still be my favourite bands. God that sounds terrible now.
mmm yeah, apparently theyve started work on the follow up which should be interesting.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, does that mean Nickelback & Creed are now your 2nd & 3rd fave bands Billy? ;-)
Yeah, I'm interested to hear Sick Puppies' new album. My guess though is that it will be rather similar to this one and they will just consolidate on what they achieved here.

LukC
October 7th 2009


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, I like prettty much all songs on it.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Looking back on my previous comment; Man, was I ever wrong!

MeatSalad
May 8th 2010


14902 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very enjoyable album.

Digging: The Weakerthans - Reconstruction Site

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Enjoyable" is a good word to describe this. It's a real shame they couldn't follow it up strongly though.

MeatSalad
November 7th 2010


14902 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't think they could've gone far with their sound anyway.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 7th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

True. But that's why I thought they'd simply consolidate on it & just make a similar record, but with the hindsight of greater experience.

DoubtGin
November 7th 2010


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the first five or so tracks are great

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 7th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, this album is definitely front-loaded. Although, I like the closer.

AtavanHalen
November 7th 2010


17927 Comments


What's all this about hugging?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 7th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Man, that seems so long ago now.

FearThyEvil
December 24th 2010


12694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tri-Polar was a horrible follow up to this album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 24th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, tri-Polar was so disappointing. It probably gets hated on a little too much, but after this, it's justified to some extent.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy