Opeth Watershed
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pebster49
June 3rd 2008



2987 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Keyboard section in both "Locus Eater" and "Burden" are so awesome, I almost just wait for them them to show up now...btw, the ending of "Burden" to me is a good way to lead to the next song in my opinion, it gives it that journey to song to song feel(plus its really creepy at the very end of it).

ilikemusic
June 3rd 2008



35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i thought it was good not great. theyve definitely put out better stuff.

3.5

gotta give it a few more listens though.

Crimson
June 3rd 2008



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with Altmer mostly.

Mikesn
Emeritus
June 3rd 2008



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Favorite Opeth album I have. I want to know who's the chick who sings in Coil.
Nathalie Lorichs
besides your drawbacks with Burden which I thought was a fantastic song (the King Crimson influence is really prominent in that tune which is awesome).
Don't get me wrong, it's a decent song. I just find some parts to be really annoying.
this album is too "zzz" at points for me but it still has some gems, the first three tracks rule and so does hex omega
Pretty much how I felt until I started listening to it a lot.This Message Edited On 06.03.08

Thor
June 3rd 2008



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm pretty sure that Nathalie Lorichs is Axe's girlfriend.

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

BallsToTheWall
June 3rd 2008



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll be sure to look up that name if she's in any other projects because Coil is phenominal.

Poet
June 3rd 2008



5910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

So Hessian Peel is the best song on here for me.

HoudiniLogic
June 3rd 2008



19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review, gets a 4.5 by me though.

Stellar album

SCREAM!
June 3rd 2008



9573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Had this for a while but didn't listen to it much. Starting to wonder why i didn't now

tomayw
June 3rd 2008



7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeeeeaahhh ! it's cool - 4 - that's good point....


mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2008



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

prolly will go buy this today

Wizard
June 3rd 2008



18757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't get me wrong, it's a decent song. I just find some parts to be really annoying.

Your opinion around here is way more credible than mine Mikesn ;). Just like to throw in my two cents.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

TheGreatD17
June 3rd 2008



1141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this is their weakest album since My Arms, Your Hearse; The Lotus Eater and Burden were the only tracks that wowed me really. Coil, Heir, and Porcelain are all good too, but Hessian Peel's soft-to-loud transition is awkward and Hex Omega sounds frustratingly incomplete.

SCREAM!
June 3rd 2008



9573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The end of Burden was a big wtf moment for me. It would make a great ending if the guitars didn't sound so out of tune

UmphreysHead
June 3rd 2008



285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Lotus Eater > Rest of album.

Thor
June 3rd 2008



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The end of Burden was a big wtf moment for me. It would make a great ending if the guitars didn't sound so out of tune

Well that's kinda what is supposed to be happening.

SCREAM!
June 3rd 2008



9573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm sure it is supposed to be happening. I doubt Opeth would accidentally let something like that slide. But I still thought it sounded pretty bad considering how great it could've been with tuned guitars

Altmer
June 3rd 2008



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah I mean the album isn't bad or anything, it's cool but when I compare it to how much I want to listen to this and how much I enjoy listening to say, Still Life or Blackwater Park it's just not the same.

it's an Opeth album, meaning that this is still top-notch and better than 99.9% of what's out there, but I can't help not really getting into this as much as some other Opeth albums. i guess for every band you need to have a favourite album?

SHOOTME
June 3rd 2008



2393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another awesome album by Opeth.

Poet
June 3rd 2008



5910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hessian Peel's soft-to-loud transition is awkward

That is my favorite part of the whole album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy