Opeth Watershed
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ButteryBiscuitBass
May 24th 2013


10443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hear plenty of Opeth in Heritage [2]

Motiv3
May 24th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is a big call, but that's how I feel.

ButteryBiscuitBass
May 24th 2013


10443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I respect that.



I'm a sucker for Hex Omega and Hessian Peel.

NeroCorleone80
May 24th 2013


30750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Other than the heavy riffing Hex Omega could easily fit onto Heritage

Motiv3
May 24th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Those songs are great. Though I tend to repeat the first 4 off this album over and over as those are my favourites off this album. Porcelain Heart is the only track on this album that's below par for me.

OmairSh
May 24th 2013


12032 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Heritage doesn't even sound like Opeth"



Hey man if the musics good that's all that matters. You can't expect a band to restrict their sound to

avoid upsetting fans. The core elements of the bands sound will definitely seep through each record

since the song writer(s) is the same, but there should definitely be experimentation with sound, thats

what progs all about.

Digging: Nightingale - I

Motiv3
May 24th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Hey man if the musics good that's what matters. You can't expect a band to restrict their sound to avoid upsetting fans. The core elements of the bands sound will definitely seep through each record since the song writer is the same, but there should definitely be experimentation with sound, thats what progs all about."



I definitely agree however in my opinion there is a line between having influences to experiment with your sound and those influences overtaking your sound stripping nearly everything that was the core of your sound to begin with. On Heritage I definitely hear the Jethro Tull, Camel and King Crimson influence. I definitely hear Opeth's attempt at expanding more into 70's prog with the song structures and the use of certain instruments more at the forefront. I definitely hear the faux 70's vintage production that makes the album sound extremely thin (in my opinion). What I don't hear is any shred of the band Opeth as it once was. I don't hear Opeth using those influences to construct an Opeth album influence by 70's prog. I hear Opeth trying to become 70's prog. Huge difference there. And the thing is, I'd probably accept it if it weren't for some of the bizzare songwriting choices and the fact its all rather dull.



Don't get me wrong, I do not expect Opeth to sound the same forever. I'm eager to hear where they will go next and I'm hoping they will surprise me. I just don't see Heritage as a success at all.

ButteryBiscuitBass
May 24th 2013


10443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I take Heritage as a nod to 70s prog. It wasn't meant to sound groundbreaking, because that could never happen with an album like that. It does sound good though and that's the most important thing.

OmairSh
May 24th 2013


12032 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree that bands shouldn't wear their influences on their sleeves, and Opeth have ripped off old

proggers on Heritage to an extent but it's still refreshing with regards to the Opeth catalogue. I

definitely wanted it to be more daring and experimental than it was, but it's a step that I'm pleased

with as I have gotten tired by Opeths brand of prog death. I think Mikael wanted the fans to ease in

to the transition as it does feel like he has held back on Heritage, I can only hope he lets loose on

the follow up.

Motiv3
May 24th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album doesn't need to be groundbreaking though. Not what I was expecting at all.

NeroCorleone80
May 24th 2013


30750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Judging from a few interviews the new album will be more "out there"

Motiv3
May 24th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that could be either really good or really bad haha. We'll see. Mikael tends to fuck with fans when it comes to hyping up new Opeth albums though.

ButteryBiscuitBass
May 24th 2013


10443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That would break my heart.

Motiv3
May 24th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The new album should be more of a bwp part 2 hopefully"



I love BWP to death. But even though its one of my favourite albums ever, I hope to hell that never happens (hint: it won't anyway).

Motiv3
May 24th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Because it would be a step backwards in my opinion. Opeth have been a band that's always evolved their

sound whether for better or worse (in most cases better).

ButteryBiscuitBass
May 24th 2013


10443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

True

OmairSh
May 24th 2013


12032 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's been done already. That album was made for that particular time in the bands life, now it's time to move forward.

Motiv3
May 24th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What Omair said essentially.

ButteryBiscuitBass
May 24th 2013


10443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No it's not. Even if that was the case did you read a word the guys just said?

Motiv3
May 24th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Even if it is, doing a rehash of that album would essentially be that: A rehash. It would not be nearly as good as the original. Trying too hard to duplicate an album usually leads to an album that is nowhere near as good as original. If not, sub par or worse.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy