Foo Fighters Foo Fighters
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
porch
August 24th 2011


8460 Comments


On that first album, Grohl displayed a remarkable deftness for balancing melody and menace-- even as the rocket-launcher riffs of "This Is a Call" and "I'll Stick Around" shot into the red, he never lost his cool. On The Colour and the Shape, the noise/pop relationship feels more forced, like Grohl's trying too hard to grind down his sweet tooth into a fang, dressing up virtually every song in a chrome-plated guitar gilding that boosts the volume and fidelity, but ultimately dulls the impact. Maybe he's overcompensating for being a softie at heart: the gentlest turns are either presented as brief teasers (the 84-second opener "Doll"), are appended with portentous, power-ballad choruses ("February Stars"), or are muted into a blur ("Walking After You", which reappeared in improved, revised form on The X-Files movie soundtrack). Or just contrast the first album's standout single "Big Me" with The Colour's "Up in Arms", two melodically similar songs in vastly different packaging: Where the former is content to coast as a simple, gentle jangle, the latter resorts to a soft/loud about-face that feels like nudge-wink schtick.


123 pitchfork guy

this is so much better than every other foo fighters album

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Count me as pleased that I don't agree with pitchfork... Especially since rock/alt-rock is clearly not their specialty.

porch
August 24th 2011


8460 Comments


the source is irrelevant, my tastes generally aren't in line with pitchfork approved stuff either but that's no reason to dismiss every single paragraph of their reviews




DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

True to a certain extent. You know they're coming from a different angle on music though. I mean, they hardly even review albums similar to The Fooeys.

Even ignoring that argument, I didn't dismiss it... just disagreed with it.


uziclip
August 29th 2011


101 Comments


Best Foo Fighters album by far [2]

PurpleDino
August 29th 2011


3076 Comments


i wouldn't say by far but i would say it is the best

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You guys are so cool.

PurpleDino
August 30th 2011


3076 Comments


so are you.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 30th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Aww shucks.

KILL5
October 25th 2011


429 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

best album ever made

BigHans
October 25th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good Grief is by far the best song on this m/

PurpleDino
October 25th 2011


3076 Comments


Wattershed is so m/

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Come on people, 'Big Me' is the best.

PurpleDino
October 26th 2011


3076 Comments


Exhausted is practically SDBM so m/

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Now you're using too many abbreviations for me to follow.

KILL5
October 26th 2011


429 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

big me is a fun song but nowhere near the best

aaaaaaaalllllllllllllllll the staaaaatic

PurpleDino
October 26th 2011


3076 Comments


Suicidal Depressive Black Metal

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ahhhh, not one of my preferred genres to listen to. LOL.

PurpleDino
October 26th 2011


3076 Comments


yeah neither I was taking major league piss

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2011


1876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their best album if im honest. For a debut,its surprisingly good, but the amount of melody the foos had here was perhaps a warning of what was to come. Unfortunately, only their first three albums were the good ones. For me, after that, they went on a rapid decline.


Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy