I Am Spoonbender Buy Hidden Persuaders
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
fireaboveicebelow
July 16th 2008



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm on it, thanks

fireaboveicebelow
July 17th 2008



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

willie I gotta say I love all the bands you recommended

Willie
Moderator
July 17th 2008



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn, you found them all already (well the Anacrusis ones aren't hard to find... which one did you listen to?). That's cool that you liked them.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

fireaboveicebelow
July 17th 2008



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

screams and whispers. acumen nation reminds me of a demented Orgy

Willie
Moderator
July 17th 2008



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, I'm glad I didn't waste your time. That Fair to Midland album (hopefully you got the newest one) is a grower.

fireaboveicebelow
July 17th 2008



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I got fables from a mayfly, only heard the first two songs, but I know it's good

Willie
Moderator
July 17th 2008



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The songs after that are even better.

foreverendeared
July 17th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it is indeed a grower, but well worth the time

Avirov
February 9th 2009



1206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I fell in love with these guys when I saw their crazy ad for this album that's full of anti-subliminal-messages-subliminal-messages. Great stuff.

This album is probably some of the most badass electronic music I've heard in the while. It takes the edge of some of Richard James' jungle beat stuff and translates it into much friendlier, catchy music due to the great tonality of the synths and simple evolution of layers. The change-ups combined with interplay between parts and the fantastic off-kilter, almost b-52s-esque vocals make this the best electronic album I've heard in a long time.This Message Edited On 02.09.09

Willie
Moderator
February 10th 2009



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is probably some of the most badass electronic music I've heard in the while. It takes the edge of some of Richard James' jungle beat stuff and translates it into much friendlier, catchy music due to the great tonality of the synths and simple evolution of layers. The change-ups combined with interplay between parts and the fantastic off-kilter, almost b-52s-esque vocals make this the best electronic album I've heard in a long time.
Glad you took the time to check this out. You forgot to mention that it's free too ;)

Avirov
February 11th 2009



1206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, I guess that's cool too. I honestly wish I could have this on CD, I can't crank up a .wav file.

foreverendeared
February 11th 2009



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what? just convert it

Willie
Moderator
February 11th 2009



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They posted the songs as WAV files so that there was no quality loss if you wanted to burn it straight to a CD. Now, if you decide to rip them as MP3s than you can choose the bitrate. Just open them in iTunes, right click the song title, select "Convert to MP3" and you're done.

Avirov
February 15th 2009



1206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

point taken.This Message Edited On 02.15.09

Waior
June 2nd 2009



11421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm getting this, but it's a ridiculously long download.

Avirov
June 2nd 2009



1206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Worth it x 1,000,000

Waior
June 2nd 2009



11421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is difficult for me. Mostly the vocals, otherwise I like it.

Willie
Moderator
June 3rd 2009



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The vocals may take some time to get into, but they'll grow on you.

Waior
June 3rd 2009



11421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, believe me, they already have.

SoundsTurnAround
June 5th 2009



9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I Am Spoonbender are actually very well known, they are just very under-represented on Sputnik for some reason. i'll try and review the early stuff sometime. Dustin Donaldson and Robyn Iwata are surely geniuses. did you know that Buy Hidden Persuaders is available on cd? got mine at Other Music, NYC. awesome packaging!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy