Coldplay X & Y
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iai
Emeritus
June 10th 2005



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't believe this review has more negative ratings than positive.

What the fuck is this, Amazon?!?

br3ad_man
Emeritus
June 10th 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So it's alright then?

Iai
Emeritus
June 10th 2005



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wait, I rated this 0.5? Oh well. Maybe it deserves a 1, but I ain't gonna lose any sleep.

Yes, the review is very good.

Zmev
June 10th 2005



983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I enjoy this album, it sounds different than AROBTTH and thats fine, it's just Coldplat moving on. Speed of Sound is a good single imo.

masada
June 11th 2005



2733 Comments


I think the only song that I enjoy off of this is "'Til Kingdom Come." I find the others to be rather drab, almost re-hashes of prior material. I do enjoy their guitar player from time to time, though. Otherwise, I think this is.. meh.

Masakik
June 12th 2005



25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Till Kingdom Come was a song written by Johnny Cash before he died. He never got a chance to record it, so Coldplay decided to record it as a bonus track on the album."

Where did you get your info. Mine keeps telling me they wrote it FOR johnny.

Knoxvillelives
June 19th 2005



342 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All the tracks I've heard sound like Pink Floyd and U2, which isn't necessarily bad, but none of them really took my fancy
The ones they played on Later were fairly powerful, but none of them stuck in my head

br3ad_man
Emeritus
June 19th 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Where did you get your info. Mine keeps telling me they wrote it FOR johnny.


If they did that then my respect for them has boosted.

masada
June 19th 2005



2733 Comments


No. They have said countless times on television that it was a song that Johnny Cash was going to record for another American Recordings albumThis Message Edited On 06.19.05

br3ad_man
Emeritus
June 19th 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh well. Better luck next time fellas.

morrissey
Moderator
June 22nd 2005



1688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've listened to this album over and over, and I like it now.

It's not a masterpiece, far from it. But it's well done. And enjoyable.

I bump my rating to 3.5.This Message Edited On 06.22.05

The_Flash!!!!
June 26th 2005



93 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you guys will probably jump all over my butt for this but i like the album i give it a 4.

but rush to the head's still a better album

br3ad_man
Emeritus
June 26th 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Some people gave it a 5. I find that absurdly ridiculous, but each to his own.

Masakik
July 1st 2005



25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I gave it 5 cause I like that kind of sounds X & Y brings. I know lots of people that also gave it high ratings just because they like the more mellow sound. So naturally if you don't have the same "ear" as the people you love it you wouldn't understand and vise versa.
This Message Edited On 07.01.05

br3ad_man
Emeritus
July 1st 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sorry, I just don't see how it can be considered classic, up there with albums like "OK Computer" and "Dark Side of the Moon" when most people agree that it isn't even their best album.

Masakik
July 2nd 2005



25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well, I know that i'll be pulling this album out 10 years from now to listen to mainly because Coldplay is one of my fav bands. So i guess its a classic to me.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
July 2nd 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sure, I could say that for quite a lot of albums like "Dizzy Up The Girl" by The Goo Goo Dolls. Just because I like it that much, it isn't on the same level as an album like "Dark Side Of The Moon".

Oddsen
July 5th 2005



1127 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i wouldn't call it a classic album either. Even though i like almost all of the songs. Most of them aren't loud enough and have strong guitar riffs like in my place, yellow, or shiver

Masakik
July 7th 2005



25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

no, you don't get my point. It's a classic to me personnally. Like dark side of the moon isnt a considered a classic to me cause that isnt my favourite type of music. Lots of ppl would consider it a classic some wouldn't to. For me X & Y is a classic.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
July 8th 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No, you don't get [i]my[/i[ point, I understand yours perfectly. You may love this record and that's fine. It may be your favourite album ever and that's also fine. But that doesn't make it something that's going to change music. It doesn't make it something that people are going to have in their collections for years. It doesn't make it an album that everyone must own, no matter what.

It may be perfect and flawless to you (I really don't see how...are there seriously no more than one or two songs you don't consider to be some of the best released in the last two or 3 years?), but that doesn't elevate it to that status. You can't call an album a classic just because you really like it.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy