Gorguts Obscura
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GuitaristPaul
February 18th 2006


51 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Gorguts owns you

Werny
March 11th 2006


148 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Clouded is how Doom should be played; deep growls that surround you, creepy feedback, drums that, instead of playing a simple 4/4 rock beat, rumble like the brewing of the apocalypse, guitar riffs that are at once brutal, mystic and emotional, sludgey bass and a really trippy solo.

Add Subtle Body to the list of best songs for me. Is it actually physically possible to play that drum beat at the beginning!?

Oh and Sweet Silence has got to have one of the best acoustic riffs ever. It's kind of creepy but also jolly and weird.

Dancin' Man
March 11th 2006


719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ehh, Clouded is still the worst one on the album for me. It feels like it drags on and on and on.... there are some cool riffs in there (around 4:25) but to me it feels like they are playing slight variations on the same theme for 9 minutes which is boring.This Message Edited On 03.11.06

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is pretty fucking amazing. Not one weak song on here, even Clouded, imo.

TheDevilsOwn
June 19th 2006


91 Comments


I've been meaning to get this album for awhile. After reading this review, I think I will now.

Apocalyptic Raids
October 4th 2006


810 Comments


Overrated.

Give me Considered Dead or The Erosion of Sanity any day.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 20th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It sounds like someone recorded a decent album, then threw it in a blender.

Intransit
January 20th 2007


2797 Comments


From what I've heard from this, its the reason why I hate tr00 br00tal death. I do love some straight tech death though, as well as melodeath

Killtacular
January 20th 2007


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is about as technical as it gets, barring Necrophagist. Brutal would be more like Cannibal Corpse and their ilk.

Intransit
January 20th 2007


2797 Comments


Well, I guess I mean more along the lines of melodic and technical, like Arsis. When I think tech death, I generally think Cryptopsy and Necrophagist, both of whom are much more listenable than this band imo.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This and "Focus" are pretty much the best death metal albums of all time, bar none.

Doppelganger
May 24th 2007


3124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm listening to Nostalgia right now, and I'm pretty much loving it. I need to get this.

Thor
May 27th 2007


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is a steaming pile of meh.

MeowMeow
May 27th 2007


662 Comments


I would go gay for this album.

Has anyone heard the new project started by the guitarist? I wish I could remember the name of it...

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You just cant handle the tr00 kvlt this album contains.

edit: Negativa?This Message Edited On 05.27.07

Tyler
Emeritus
May 27th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Has anyone heard the new project started by the guitarist? I wish I could remember the name of it...


Negativa. It's more of the same, I'm not a fan.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Negativa just want to make another Obscura, and its pretty monotonous.

MeowMeow
May 27th 2007


662 Comments


I knew it started with an N...

Yeah, but since the guitarist is bringing the other people into songwriting, it should bring out more origionality on their part.

I'm listening to this album right now. It's still kick-assery.

bearshaman
October 5th 2007


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I would have to agree with this review; If I had to sum up this album in one word, it would have to be: dense. There's so much music in such a small space it's almost claustrophobic. I had to listen to the songs several times before I could start to enjoy the songwriting at all. Amazing how much more you get out of it the more you listen, though. Great review of the album Dancin' Man.

TheHamburgerman
October 23rd 2007


1300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Necrophagist is by far not as technical as this album. Faster, yes, but by far not as technical.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy