DJ Shadow Endtroducing.....
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dried Muffin Remnants
February 13th 2006


297 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'll agree that it's not perfect as some songs do drag on. But there are just so many memorable songs on this album, that it is classic.

It has its flaws, but if every 5-star had to be perfect, we'd have too small of an amount of 5s.

Killtacular
February 13th 2006


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's a difference between being flawed and boring. Flawed is allowable, boring is not.

I agree that it's a classic, but that doesn't warrent a five in and of itself, regardless of what that ratings scale says.This Message Edited On 02.13.06

Fourtonmantis
February 28th 2006


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've heard that the intro to The Number Song does indeed sample Orion.

Anyways, probably one of my favorite albums. It's just mad spiffy on a countless multitude of levels.

humph42
March 11th 2006


12 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think with an album like this, it's allowed to be boring. I mean, I don't even notice it's boringness when I listen to it. The best summary of shadow I've heard is

'Dj Shadow's Music doesn't punch you in the face. Instead, it does something even more miraculous. It penetrates your brain and makes sense of the world around you.'

"Freshly Baked"
March 18th 2006


583 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is a classic, but its one of the few classic albums that i wouldnt give a 5. It's boring in some parts, but it still pioneered trip hop

The biggest mistake was not making "Why Hip Hop Sucks in '96" an expanded song rather than the noice 50 second interlude, I absolutely loved the loop, he could've done so much more with it.

And has anyone heard the full version of Organ Donor, it it amazing

EDIT:

F**k, that quote about DJ Shadow not punching you in the face, but penetrating your soul, it's true. It went from a 4 to a 4.5 to a 5. Damn you DJ Shadow, I can't stop listening to you!!!This Message Edited On 04.29.06This Message Edited On 04.29.06

bleep_bloop
April 10th 2006


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

definetly one of my favorite albums of all time

"Freshly Baked"
April 11th 2006


583 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hahaha, I just noticed the guy on the right is wearing a pager, this was for sure made in the mid nineties, lol.This Message Edited On 04.11.06

calgone
May 13th 2006


48 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

amazing album and great review
favorite song: midnight in a perfect world

ChrisM665
June 20th 2006


3 Comments


This is a brilliant album. For anyone who is interested in pure beats (not just a snare going off or whatever, but layered, complex, detailed sampling), a producer/starting off with some Samplers/Synths/etc., or anyone interested in something new.. you must buy this album.
A lot of people I've shown this to fail to realize the difficulty of and breakthrough this album is and don't give it enough credit because they don't have appreciation nor respect. Shadow is paving the road to a whole new world of music.

My only regret is that I got the shorter version of Endtroducing. I got interested in DJ Shadow through the full version of Organ Donor and was severely disappointed to find a shorter version on Organ Donor, but I know why that happened (no need to explain this to me).This Message Edited On 06.20.06

Zebra
Moderator
June 20th 2006


2647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[quote=Scruples]I agree that it's a classic, but that doesn't warrent a five in and of itself, regardless of what that ratings scale says.[/quote] This is definitely a classic, but I don't even think it deserves a 4.5 out 5, more like a 4/5. I love listening to this album because it just makes me relax but sometimes the music can get very boring. If Shadow shortened some of these songs up then it would be a much more smooth listen.

STLMiguel
June 20th 2006


335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What the fuck, are you guys crazy?

Of course this is a 5.

STLMiguel
June 20th 2006


335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Definately better at night, that's true. But even at noon when it is as hot as balls, it is STILL A 5/5 PEOPLE.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mezzanine is better.

STLMiguel
June 20th 2006


335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well, first off, no it isn't. And second, why the fuck does that matter? Nobody is even bringing up Massive Attack.

And, wait, you give Matchbox 20 albums 5/5 and not this?

Killtacular
June 20th 2006


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, it is. It's much more coherent and has much less rambling.

Mezzanine is teh win. It's relevant because of their both being Trip Hop.

Zebra
Moderator
June 20th 2006


2647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, Mezzanine doesn't win for one big reason. I think that other people have already stated this but while walking around at night and listening to Endtroducing there is simply no better feeling.

STLMiguel
June 20th 2006


335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Give me a fucking break, guys, this is Endtroducing we are talking about. I give up.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

STLMiguel, all you accomplish with your harboring hatred of my MAtchbox Twenty review is making yourself off topic.
And listening to Mezzanine while playing Elder Scrolls Oblivion is better than walking around at night listening to Endtroducing, albeit ever so slightly.

The Jungler
June 20th 2006


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Isn't Oblivion that World of Warcraft rip-off?
Oh, and Endtro > Mezz.

STLMiguel
June 20th 2006


335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't hate your review, it is pretty good. Randomly commenting about Mezz just makes no sense. I don't care if they are both considered trip-hop.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy