Porcupine Tree Deadwing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
italic zero
November 6th 2005



31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

On 'Arriving Somewhere, But Not Here,' to my ears the first solo (the sustained one) is Steven, the second solo (the heavy one) is Mikael, the third one (the clean one) could be either, but I'm leaning towards Mikael, and the outro solo, if you can call it that, is definitely Steven. I'm not sure if it says in the album notes, I'll look later.

Cecillianne
November 8th 2005



19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I had a really bad first impression of this band. I think the song was "How was your life today" from Forced Listening and I really didn't like it.

I listened to Lazarus and got hooked, though. Amazing band.

Jawaharal
November 9th 2005



1832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Start Of Something Beautiful has the best beginning of any song ever.

Toaster
November 9th 2005



343 Comments


I love this album. It's spectacular. The title track reminds me a lot of Rush, for some reason. I love Lazarus too, and also Mellotron Scratch.. hell, the whole album is amazing.

King_Of_Terrors
November 12th 2005



52 Comments


Great review for a great album.

Reywas
December 26th 2005



148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is my secong favourite release of the year.

Daven
December 26th 2005



13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is an amazing album, every song is great.

4.5/5

Daven
December 26th 2005



13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Deadwing is definitely on of their best albums. ASBNH is such an amazing song.

M A D R I G A L
January 16th 2006



103 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Man oh man, here's an album! Fantastic in every single way, not a dull track, and Steven Wilson is a God. Favorite song is probably "Arriving Somewhere But Not Here." Good review too.

BringHomeTheBacon
January 16th 2006



248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is amazing. The layered vocals in Mellotron Scratch and Glass Arm Shattering are unbelievable. I like this album a bit more than In Absentia.

Zebra
Moderator
January 16th 2006



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Halo has got to be the best track off here, I love the bassline.
The only problem I have with "Deadwing" is that it gets boring fast. I think it loses its replay value quickly but that's probably because I'm not that big of a PT fan.

Hebrew Hammer
January 16th 2006



37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A near flawless album in my opinion. I thought a few tracks a bit offputting but not much else I can complain about this one. Great review too.

Hebrew Hammer
January 16th 2006



37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A near flawless album in my opinion. I thought a few tracks a bit offputting but not much else I can complain about this one. Great review too.

Hebrew Hammer
January 16th 2006



37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A near flawless album in my opinion. I thought a few tracks a bit offputting but not much else I can complain about this one. Great review too.

JumpTheF**kUp
January 20th 2006



2708 Comments


Arriving Somewhere but not here is such a good song. Good review.

Hebrew Hammer
January 21st 2006



37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not quite sure why I accidently triple posted. Sorry about that.

Voyage34
January 24th 2006



13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love it. Especially "Ariving Somewhere but Not Here". Very good work by PT, although not quite their best.

ktstein
January 24th 2006



438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was completely blown away by these guys. I have In Absentia and Deadwing, and am looking to get into some of their older stuff. Any suggestions?
Each song creates a different mood, and guitars, bass, and drums go absolutely perfect with Steve-O's voice...and WHAT A LIVE SHOW!!! The sounded so good...honestly one of the best concerts I've seen.
This album is as close to a 6 as you can get (on the 5 point scale). Arriving Somewhere, but not Here is priceless.

Jawaharal
January 24th 2006



1832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Get Stupid Dream and Up The Downstair/Staircase Infinities.

ktstein
January 24th 2006



438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks dude...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy