X Japan Art of Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
hollyshannon
June 10th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you can try find their songs from www.isohunt.com

i'd suggest by first download and watch their Dahlia concert or the Last Live for a start for those who are interested in getting to learn more of this great band.

i will be happy to be of help if you guys wanna learn more of their songs and stuffs.







This Message Edited On 06.10.06

711
June 10th 2006


1341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Would this be avalible in a normal record store?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The record stores around my house don't carry anything by X Japan, but maybe you'll get lucky looking for it.

Hatshepsut
June 10th 2006


1997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Download it. Man is it worth it.

hollyshannon
June 11th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

they disbanded 9 years ago so it's difficult to get all their cds and dvds these days. but i know Amazon has a lot of their stuffs and so does ebay cos it's gonna cos you a fortune if you love them as much as i do and own all their stuffs :S

there are still alot of forums out there discussing about them and Yoshiki these days...such as

www.xjapan.de (not as active but deffo the best out there that discuss about x japan, and they are predominantly westerners


http://freeforums.bizhat.com/index.php?mforum=screamingKIAI&s=b61874382748e93cbbf315540f1b7d8d&showforum=4

best x japan forum these days.



YakuzaXRock
June 16th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hello Iai, we meet again (?), even though late, maybe it's finally time to say hello on a more personal level. I didn't "dare" message you on RYM so I see you here instead ;).
I read your review a year ago and as we all know it's VERY good. I agree and feel the same about every word you said. But one thing: "Dahlia" is the best album ;). Maybe you already read mine and with a risk of "attention whoring"(god I hate that), you (or anyone else) can see it here.
http://sputnikmusic.com/album.php?albumid=7671

sorry if it looks like I'm "trying to block the sunlight" from you, that is absolutely not my intention and there's no risk of it happening anyway as your review is better than mine . The only thing I care about is X/being fans of their music. Take care!This Message Edited On 06.16.06

Volunteer
June 16th 2006


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Japan's answer to Led Zeppelin"? LOL.

This band sounds NOTHING like Led Zeppelin. They sound more like Twisted Sister molesting Kamelot.

That aside. This is one of X Japan's better tracks.

Sepstrup
June 16th 2006


1563 Comments


I don't think the reference has a lot to do with their sound, but more their popularity.

Hewitt
June 19th 2006


371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think this is an amazing track. It has a lot of variety and shows some great musicianship. One of my friend's praises these guys quite a bit, so this made me wanna check out some more.

Honeymoon_Croon
July 23rd 2006


297 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I could only find the live version of this. I fell in love with it. I don't imagine the studio version could be any worse.

Cousin_Ed
August 3rd 2006


17 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well reviewed. I love this song also and have to agree with everything you say.
Supposibly Toshi has over 3 octaves of range, which is remarkable!

This song completely impressed me aswell as your review, well written with great relivant interesting facts and a good description of the song itself!

Though I have to say, the dissonant notes in that piano solo make me quiver, and not really in a good way. : p
Hey, that's just me. I need more Jazz. Either way he's a talented pianist, and multi-instrumentallist from what I hear. Did he also play drums on the album/track?

Easily up there in my top 10 songs of all time.

Well done. m/


Astralmind
August 3rd 2006


2 Comments


OMG ! I posted on this thread regarding the review ages ago and stumbled back on this page by accident when a friend googled my nick ! Wow, still active as of today, awesome.

X-japan's songs are easy to find off emule and easy to buy second hand off ebay for very reasonable prices. If not, you can always check www.jpophelp.com

Worst comes to worst, reach me at astralmind at gmail dot com
and I can email you a few songs !

Thor
August 29th 2006


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, this is pretty awesome.

TemperamentalGoat
September 23rd 2006


87 Comments


^^ The only molesting I can hear of is this song molesting Stairway to Heaven.

But pointless comparisons aside this is probably one of the greatest songs I have ever heard in my life. The enormity of it...wow. If you play an instrument and respect music more than a way to pass time, I cannot understand how you wouldn't be able to appreciate this masterpiece.

One of the live performances can be seen here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ocpn-pxT0D4.

I highly recommend it, the piano solo is extended as Yoshiki really gives it his all to the music. There isn't a concert I would want to go to more than be at this one... those are some of the luckiest people. This Message Edited On 09.23.06

Kingofdudes
October 2nd 2006


294 Comments


This song is love

711
November 18th 2006


1341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just watched a live video of the first part of this song. It is amazing... I love the constant guitar riffs and the beautiful piano intro. The singer has a pretty good voice, its just somewhat nasal at parts. I suppose he sounds better on the album though.
Art of life is very high on my Christmas list.

Thor
November 18th 2006


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The vocals are pretty good, even though they're about as cheesy as they can sound. It's still a sick album.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2006


17939 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's alright.

Thor
November 18th 2006


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I think this album, while being good, is overhyped, especially on this website.

Yield
December 30th 2006


626 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought this was great.

However, when you said proggy keyboards, do you know this for a fact? I thought that it was a harpsichord playing.This Message Edited On 12.30.06



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy