Pink Floyd The Piper at the Gates of Dawn
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
John Paul Harrison
May 13th 2007



1014 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well in this i am quite happy for you. idk why piper gets so much hate on sputnik- as far authentic 60's psychedelic goes this is right at the top.

good man 711, good man.

711
May 13th 2007



1341 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, its very underrated. It really gets overlooked in light of the more popular Pink Floyd albums like The Wall and Wish You Were Here.

MrKite
May 13th 2007



5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm going by what I've heard so far with this statement so don't kill me if it's inaccurate to certain albums; I enjoy the fact that it's more listenable in the vein that the intros aren't 2 minutes of ambient noise. Like come on, that's not interesting.

711
May 13th 2007



1341 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well ambience usually sets the mood for the song thats coming. Take Miranda, that Ghost Just Isnt Holy Anymore by The Mars Volta. 4 or 5 minutes of ambient sounds and crickets chirping sounds rediculous in most cases, but that part was a part in the album, it was a turning point in the story, to some extent.

MrKite
May 13th 2007



5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, but I'm just saying when nearly every song on the album does that, it's not fun to listen to anymore.

711
May 13th 2007



1341 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thats pretty much true. What albums are you talking about, though?

MrKite
May 13th 2007



5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Now, that I think about it, from what I can remember (haven't listened to PF in a long time) they aren't as bad as I made them seem for it. I can still say that the lack of those intros that are present (just not as present as I made it seem) on the other albums is nice.This Message Edited On 05.13.07

Ephex
May 14th 2007



730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the way that Syd Barret makes this album so child like and dark at the same time (if thats possible). Shame he's dead.

MrKite
May 14th 2007



5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He's like that kid who lives down the road and likes to burn things.

711
May 14th 2007



1341 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't really see this album as really "dark". Not at all, actually. Its just kind of... psychotic.

Ephex
May 15th 2007



730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Yeah, that's a better word.

samthebassman
May 18th 2007



2164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is one hell of a psycadelic acid trip of a record.

Ephex
May 18th 2007



730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Indeed.


John Paul Harrison
May 18th 2007



1014 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

tbqh i think there are plenty of dark moments on the album.

half way through "flaming" syd starts talking like a pedophile about to have his prepubecent prey

MrKite
May 22nd 2007



5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Was Syd schizophrenic before PF and the drugs? I think Roger said he was, but I can't really remember.
I was thinking of lowering my rating to a 3.5 but listened to it last night while going to sleep and changed my mind completely.

711
May 22nd 2007



1341 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Syd was schizophrenic, but I think that it was worsened by the drugs.


MrKite
May 22nd 2007



5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It definitely was. I'd say drugs are the worst things for schizophrenia.This Message Edited On 05.22.07

Ephex
May 23rd 2007



730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Gosh, how'd you get that?

Two-Headed Boy
June 7th 2007



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dunno, even by Pink Floyd's standards this is kinda cheesy...

711
June 7th 2007



1341 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nah, its just their best.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy