Brand New Deja Entendu
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
The Sludge
June 13th 2006



2169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its hard to compare each Brand New album.
The first album was angry angst like lyrics layered over a tight pop punk sound.
This one has an indie sound, with so much emotion poured.
I call dibs on their next album... whenever that is.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2006



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You can't call dibs, but thanks for playing.
This is much better than their first imo, hopefully the next album expands what they do just a tad bit.

The Sludge
June 13th 2006



2169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its hard to discredit on how well written the lyrics are on some of the songs on their first album, like Failure By Design, and Seventy Times 7. But this one blew that out of the water on almost every level.

I can call dibs, but will be overshadowed by the other 6 reviews that day.

anavail
August 29th 2006



1 Comments


Haha, first of all Dfelon, you more than likely favor rap..not that your picture and screen name give any big hints.. so in my opinion, you can not have any opinion in any good music..and I like(sarcasm) how you began to compare pop punk (or any good music for that matter) with rap...that was a big mistake. rapping takes very little talent and for you to criticize any band is a mistake on your part... even a crappy garage band has more talent than rappers

The Sludge
August 29th 2006



2169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You completly mistaken Dfelon on all acounts. Take a look at his profile and reviews before discounting him on his musical taste. Just be prepared to get torn a new one.

The Jungler
August 29th 2006



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha, first of all Dfelon, you more than likely favor rap..not that your picture and screen name give any big hints.. so in my opinion, you can not have any opinion in any good music..and I like(sarcasm) how you began to compare pop punk (or any good music for that matter) with rap...that was a big mistake. rapping takes very little talent and for you to criticize any band is a mistake on your part... even a crappy garage band has more talent than rappers
And to think I was starting to miss trolls.

Maybe you haven\'t heard any good rapping, but anyone who has can tell you it\'s a hell of alot harder to write and deliver a well-written rap song than it is to play three power chords over and over again. This is a text book example of musical profiling, its just like racism (albeit less hurtful) and it gets pretty freakin\' old.

Defelon probably knows more about pop-punk than you could ever imagine anyways.
This Message Edited On 08.29.06

failingraincoats
December 1st 2006



19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thoroughly enjoyed this album. This band's lyrics are refreshing and unique. I especially liked the songs Guernicia and Play Crack The Sky. I bought this c.d. for 8 dollars and would've paid much more.

x28x06x42x12
January 21st 2007



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably one of my favorite cds. really good stuff

Storm In A Teacup
February 23rd 2007



12712 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like the first album best, but this has their greatest songs ("Okay I Believe You, But My Tommy Gun Don't", and "Good To Know That If I Ever Need Attention All I Have To Do Is Die").

PhantomWuss95
March 20th 2007



10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I like this cd...


....a lot

guitarplaya91
April 5th 2007



485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Although I love both Your Favorite Weapon, and Deja Entendu, Jesse Lacey isn't as "arogant" as he is on Your Favorite Weapon, because that whole album is basically teen angst. Deja Entendu deals with more mature matters.

Cesar
April 7th 2007



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Quiet Tings No One Knows and Guernica are my fav songs of this album. This album was a very pleasant surprise and I'm glad I decided to check it out.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
April 7th 2007



4927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this CD is great.

Pyramidman
April 8th 2007



1340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this cd is just a natural progression from YFW to TDAGARIM, baby steps if you will

descendents1
April 8th 2007



702 Comments


i saw brand new tonight and they were mostly boring

the last half of their set was new stuff and it was pretty cool

my conclusion is that their earlier material is not nearly as good as their new stuff (and that conclusion is not based off of purely live experience).

BroRape
October 1st 2007



803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a really great album. the lyrics are really good.

powerpop
October 25th 2007



29 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My favorite album ever

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2007



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah so I don't care about all the hate this gets. By far the best Brand New record.

chris21
January 24th 2008



159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a good album, but i think 'the devil and god is raging inside me' is much better than this though.

botb
January 24th 2008



9655 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah so I don't care about all the hate this gets. By far the best Brand New record.


123



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy