Fair to Midland The Carbon Copy Silver Lining
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mikesn
Emeritus
April 9th 2008


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

this is weird but good

Willie
Moderator
April 9th 2008


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is weird but good
That could be my entire review in a nutshell ;)
I think you should do their next album, I don't want to risk repeating myself...

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Mikesn
Emeritus
April 9th 2008


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

well okay, give me a week or two

My main complaint comes from the vocals which definitely haven’t been developed to the point of any of their future releases.
This, pretty much. I like what he does here, but his singing doesn't have the some power as it does on Fables.

IAmInsect
April 27th 2008


3799 Comments


I heard a few songs on this and it sounded good, not on par with FFAM, but still good enough to buy.

Willie
Moderator
June 18th 2008


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I started listening to this a lot this week again, and it definitely grows on you.

rasputin
September 11th 2008


14555 Comments


Finally got around to this, it's a lot heavier than I thought it would be. Really good though.This Message Edited On 09.11.08

Willie
Moderator
September 11th 2008


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, starting with the new one and working backwards will definitely throw people off when they get to this one. His vocals aren't very strong which makes this one more of a grower, but I still like it.

Mikesn
Emeritus
June 6th 2009


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

It's been out of print for years so the only place you're going to find it is on the internetz. And that is just a quick google blog search away.

Gaining One is absolutely ridiculous.

Willie
Moderator
June 8th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I was surprised about how good it sounded too. I expected a really muddy sound without any seperation. It turns out the songs are pretty good too.

Willie
Moderator
June 8th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I haven't listened to this in months. I think it's time to go back to it since now I know what to expect.

CrazyFool84
September 20th 2009


1080 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

whats goin on with Darren's voice on this one?

Willie
Moderator
September 21st 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ha ha, it's all over the fuckin place.

Defeater
March 17th 2011


5782 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And a surgeon told me it's no good
You'll have to double your intake
And the risk?
Hearts were made for cigarettes
Little girls love to light up.

Defeater
April 13th 2011


5782 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the weirdness of this rules

YUJOS
July 14th 2011


950 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Third rate alternative/rock...but ok it's their first album anyway

Cipieron
September 11th 2011


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is getting a reissue in early '12 it seems. they're pricing it at $70 on the band merch page which is redonkulous... but considering an original/unopened copy recently sold for over $400 i think the band sees a cash opportunity

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The best term to sum up the debut LP of Texan alt-metal quintet Fair To Midland is "all over the place". Potential can be sporadically heard on 'The Carbon Copy Silver Lining', as can many interesting ideas. Unfortunately, not much of it is executed well, with the production & vocals especially falling flat. In fact, so layered are Darroh Sudderth's vocals that they should most appeal to schizophrenics! The bordering on ridiculous lyrics also weigh down this front-loaded & overlong (57 minutes) album, but there is definitely some talent to work with here. Recommended Tracks: An Occurance During the Restoration Process, Stiffback & Gaining One.

Cipieron
October 14th 2011


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the drummer recently said that the "2012 reissue is a joke and never happening"... fucking hilarious

cb123
December 12th 2012


2054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i used to really hate this when i first heard it ages ago....but coming back to it, its actually kinda enjoyable, weird, and the vocals are nowhere near as good as later albums but still have that weird appeal to them

JokineAugustus
June 3rd 2013


6326 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not really enjoying this so far. Maybe it will grow a bit.

Digging: Cursed - I



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy