Therapy? Troublegum
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Everyone who chooses to listen only to this Therapy? album is totally ignorant. These guys just
encompass much more than catchy hard rock tunes. I'm a huge fan of High Anxiety and think it's their
2nd or 3rd best imo. Then, Semi-Detached goes and this. Still, ironically enough the album I most
frequently listen to is Shameless though I don't think it's among their very best.

Jethro42
May 30th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Probably because Shameless is the black sheep. I don't think I'll ever enjoy that one as much as the others you recd me. However songs like Theme from Delorean, Joey, Alrite and Stalk and Slash are all easy to enjoy. Meanwhile I need to listen more deeply to High Anxiety which is imo really more enjoyable than Shameless as a whole, so far.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You didn't even mention my favorites. Haha. Dance and especially Endless Psychology are my favorites from this one, but I guess to some extent I like every track from Shameless. High Anxiety may be more enjoyable, but I dig the sound and experimentation on Shameless a lot. It just sounds quite different that's why I'm so attracted to it.

Jethro42
May 30th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're right, both Dance and Endless Psychology rule. When I'll hear their albums as much as you did, maybe I'll change my mind, who knows. The Mars Voltish Theme from Delorean stands out as well.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The funny thing is that The Mars Volta hadn't recorded anything when this album was released back in
2001. You're confusing major rockabilly influences with The Mars Volta.

Jethro42
May 30th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not confusing anything; That type of guitar line/feel is largely used by Rodriguez.

Jethro42
May 30th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^what Jethro said

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

... which doesn't change the fact that it has a rockabilly vibe written all over it. To be honest, I've never thought of The Mars Volta while listening to it.

Jethro42
May 30th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMUEn6bQ3LQ

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well. I always suspected Therapy? were influential for modern prog acts.

boleyn2
February 29th 2012


83 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

as i was listening to the first half of the album i thought i'd give it 4,5, but some of the tracks from the 2nd half seemed a little bland for me i finally changed my mind; i heard this is therapy's best album but i cant refer to this as i only heard this one and 'infernal love' and they are both equally good; i'm gonna pay more attention to this band

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 29th 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is not their best imo. I prefer about 5 albums of theirs to this.

boleyn2
March 1st 2012


83 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and which ones could you place in your top3?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hard question. Their latest album is ace! I definitely prefer it to this.

random
July 2nd 2012


2270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Screamager" should have been huge back in the day.

Romulus
July 2nd 2012


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

screamager and nowhere.. those were the days

random
July 19th 2012


2270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Screamager" rules.

Chortles
January 24th 2013


18101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the jd cover in this is sweet

Digging: Cocteau Twins - Treasure

YankeeDudel
January 24th 2013


9313 Comments


yea!

Digging: Land Of Kush - Against The Day

Chortles
January 26th 2013


18101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I WANNA CRAWL UP INSIDE YOU AND DIEE



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy