Morbid Angel Altars of Madness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
OvDeath
February 7th 2015


9433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

then again that might just be my Mike Browning obsession shining through.

Havey
February 7th 2015


10046 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thy kingdom come is one of their best imo

Havey
February 7th 2015


10046 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You are aware that its not even an official album released by the band and had ZERO shelf life over the years, right?


like what

Titan
February 7th 2015


12664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh hear we go again, if you were around on this site over the last 3 years you would understand exactly what i'm talking about. MA fans DO NOT hail this as a classic because it never surfaced anywhere - i don't care how many times it was re-issued. This album was no where to be found throughout their history and if it was, it was in an obscure mom and pop store in the middle of nowhere.



Im not contesting your love for the album but dont sit here and say you dont understand the love for Covenant over this - Covenant was fucking huge man. There wasn't always an internet where you can download everything a band ever released like you can today. Trust me, I've been through it all.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2015


19961 Comments


lol #rekt

Digging: Atrocity - Todessehnsucht

OvDeath
February 7th 2015


9433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"MA fans DO NOT hail this as a classic because it never surfaced anywhere - i don't care how many times it was re-issued. This album was no where to be found throughout their history and if it was, it was in an obscure mom and pop store in the middle of nowhere."



uh, okay, buddy. maybe not in your circles, but in the circles of people I associate with, I've always seen it hailed as a classic for MA. I'm not talking about how influential or big anything was for the genre either, I was saying I don't get the love for Covenant because obviously that album doesn't sit as well with me as the others. calm urself.



"i don't care how many times it was re-issued"



so you're disregarding the fact that it was issued by big labels over fifteen times with 26 different formats over the years because as you've been through it, you didn't see it mentioned? just sounds like you must have been kept in the dark a bit, man.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2015


19961 Comments


There wasn't always an internet where you can download everything a band ever released like you can today. Trust me, I've been through it all.


this is the most pertinent part of what he posted. pretty much sums up the internet metal community right now.

Titan
February 7th 2015


12664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not in my circles???? You wish you were exposed to my circles, let's just leave it at that.



Your ignorance makes you sound like a brand new fan my friend, which is fine too.



And the 'seasoned' users on this site know exactly what I'm talking about.

BigPleb
February 7th 2015


45230 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Who's upsetting my Titan?!

OvDeath
February 7th 2015


9433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Not in my circles???? You wish you were exposed to my circles, let's just leave it at that.



Your ignorance makes you sound like a brand new fan my friend, which is fine too.



And the 'seasoned' users on this site know exactly what I'm talking about."



i don't know what your circles were, but yeah all the guys I know seem to have always been pretty fond of Abominations. Everyone has different experiences though man, and everyone is exposed to different bands in different ways, etc. Maybe the exposure of Abominations wasn't prevalent for you, obviously, but from the guys I know, talks with Mike Browning and the like, it wasn't as obscure as you're making it out to be. But hey I'm only 21 so I'm just basing my info off of the guys I've talked to. I obviously wasn't around for it in '91. You can stop trying to sound so high and mighty though, man, it's hilarious watching you try and prove something because, what, you were around before me? lol

Gameofmetal
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2015


9133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Morbid Angel is good

Titan
February 7th 2015


12664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not trying to sound mighty Ovrot, I'm just trying to share the experience with you, that's all.





Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2015


19961 Comments


You can stop trying to sound so high and mighty though, man, it's hilarious watching you try and prove something


BigPleb
February 7th 2015


45230 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Go get em Titan bro.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2015


25230 Comments


lol that's not Ovrot, Titan.

Digging: Miles Davis / Robert Glasper - Everything's Beautiful

Titan
February 7th 2015


12664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Ovrot'



OvDeath, i apologize, don't know where that came from.....there is a user Ovrot, right?

BigPleb
February 7th 2015


45230 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hahha ye, Ovrot is mighty too.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2015


25230 Comments


Yeah there is and he rules.

OvDeath
February 7th 2015


9433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

" I'm just trying to share the experience with you, that's all."



aye, i understand, but you're getting unnecessarily aggressive about it, especially when, from all i've read and heard, the album got plenty of exposure. Even before it was released in 91, bootlegs of it that the bassist sent out were pretty rampant too, apparently. got lots of exposure in fanzines. as i said--not necessarily your exposure, but it was definitely not as obscure as you're claiming it was.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2015


25230 Comments


It was obviously way more obscure than Covenant though which explains why that album gets more recognition.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy