Bon Iver For Emma, Forever Ago
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KerfuffleinaHussle
November 12th 2012


819 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If I hear one more person say "Skinny Love" is an Ed Sheeran song, I might drive a screwdriver through their eye.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012


22047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've never heard anyone say that. Did he cover it?

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

phishing
November 12th 2012


395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn i thought skinny love was a Birdy song

phishing
November 12th 2012


395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Steoandnoodles, you're in for a treat

creature fear is like the best jam ever live

KerfuffleinaHussle
November 12th 2012


819 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

He covered it, yeah. It's becoming almost as annoying as the damn 'Birdy' thing. I'd be fine if it meant attention was drawn to this album, but it just seems like now there's several million (adolescent, usually) people out there right now who think Skinny Love is a Birdy song or a Sheeran song, and it pisses me off.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012


22047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just point Ed Sheeran fans towards Elliott Smith.

I coulda seen these guys live but I hesitated and then it was sold out

Chortles
November 12th 2012


18094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'm probably the only person that prefers s/t to this

Digging: Cocteau Twins - Treasure

KerfuffleinaHussle
November 12th 2012


819 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Damn, I really need to give the s/t the light of day sometime soon. I keep getting distracted by this
though.

"I just point Ed Sheeran fans towards Elliott Smith." Hahahaha

phishing
November 12th 2012


395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@AF same thing happened with me this year and Gaslight

luckily i've seen Justin and his band twice now- last year and on saturday night, not to be missed if you get another
chance man

Scoot
November 12th 2012


17910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that's like people who think hurt is a johnny cash song

though it is the better version

Digging: Renounced - The Melancholy We Ache

KerfuffleinaHussle
November 12th 2012


819 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's always bugged me when covers become more successful than originals, bit of a pet peeve I guess

Scoot
November 12th 2012


17910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that's the one exception most people have for that rule

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012


22047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'm probably the only person that prefers s/t to this

They're probably about level terms for me. Probably the only one of my favourite bands where I genuinely can't decide what their best release is. Both have only one song each I don't like. Like quite a few of my favourite bands, I didn't particularly expect to like Bon Iver. Even once I'd heard this I didn't think I'd like st, st cos of what certain people had said about it and my habit of never being able to find bands I genuinely love.

@AF same thing happened with me this year and Gaslight

luckily i've seen Justin and his band twice now- last year and on saturday night, not to be missed if you get another
chance man

I'll definitely jump on it. Especially since I read that they may me "slowing things down". I made up for it by nipping one of the last tickets for gy!be last week though

Chortles
November 12th 2012


18094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

except when they're better than the original

phishing
November 12th 2012


395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

some are merited though

jeff buckley's hallelujah, the pogues' and the band played waltzing matilda, etc

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012


22047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

covers are best when they genuinely change the style of the song and give a different perspective on it. if they're just performing it there's no point. I couldn't be bothered to listen all the way through it but the sheeran cover just seemed to take out what made the original interesting and added nothing of his own

Chortles
November 12th 2012


18094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

indeed, all of the covers on grace are better than the original versions, imo. but that's just buckley, most artists don't pull that off

phishing
November 12th 2012


395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

tim buckley's dolphins rules hard too


KerfuffleinaHussle
November 12th 2012


819 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"some are merited though

jeff buckley's hallelujah"

This is true, but I don't think Ed Sheeran could pull off anything of this magnitude successfully. As AF said covers work best when they put their own spin on a track and mix it up a bit.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012


9067 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I totally thought NiN covered Johnny Cash and not vice-versa even though my dad has told me the truth countless times.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy