Pedro the Lion
It's Hard To Find A Friend


5.0
classic

Review

by voodooramen USER (4 Reviews)
January 29th, 2008 | 42 replies | 10,399 views


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Pedro the Lion's first full length, A solid indie rock album with plenty of lyrical talent to spare.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

This is Pedro the Lion's first full length, and expands on their earlier sound from the Whole EP. It is also less focused on a religious message than Whole, but it is still very apparent. What is amazing about David's writing in these days is how he did push across a Christian message in some songs, but it is never the least bit imposing. It can be just as enjoyable of an album whether you agree or disagree with the message and point of some songs. In fact, in the old days when he was still Christian, he considered the entire genre of Christian music sub par, and in poor taste. He believed that if you were to compose music in God's grace, that alone is enough to glorify him, it doesn't have to be all the same repetitive religious message throughout your music. In this, I couldn't agree more with him. Thus, that is the foundation for his inspiration for writing around this album, but there is much more than just religious focused songs in this album. Cheating on your spouse, the misguided attempts for perfection in what society considers beauty, among other topics.

The album begins with "Of up and coming monarchs" which was at the time a narrative about living in a time with having to avoid the evils of the country and wishing to be free from it all. Funnily enough, though written in 1998, it could fit today's situation with society in America perfectly. He mentioned this same thing in his shows in recent months, but when played live time to time changes the line "Boycott the war well she could not afford to, Thanks to the new American Queen" to instead "King". A memorable track for sure, and actually one of the first Pedro songs that got me into them in the first place.

Another memorable track is "The Longer I Lay Here". Bare acoustic and vocals, with a surprisingly fitting bass solo in the middle. The lyrics are a story about a person in distress, and is partly a religious message in his pleading for help from Jesus.

The next track I will mention is "Bad Diary Days". The lyrics are about a husband who begins to realize his wife is cheating on him and finally confronts her. A very well composed song, and a very powerful one. Highly recommended.

At 6 minute 40 seconds, "The Secret of Easy Yoke" can seem like a bit of a drag on the same idea for some at first listen. I do admit, the album version is a bit repetitive. However, it's message is very powerful. Written from the perspective of someone who doubts faith but wants to believe, yet just can't find proof for himself to put faith into. It builds very well, and is a solid track, lyrically and instrumentally.

The other unmentioned tracks are mostly very good as well, I just pointed out the stand out tracks. Overall this album is one that you would likely either hate or love. It is mostly minimal in it's instrumentation, but the lyrical work, as always with Pedro the Lion, is the most satisfying part of the equation. I feel it truly deserves the full rating. Recommended for anyone with a taste for the lyrical aspect of music and interest in stripped down indie rock.


user ratings (76)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
January 29th 2008



17927 Comments


Not a very good review, and you didn't justify why you gave it a 5.

voodooramen
January 29th 2008



14 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

didn't justify? Did you even read the whole thing? I thought it was made clear that the writing was the reason. I outlined this in the first part. I prefer to less review and more analyze the music and the background of it. If that isnt what you meant I would appreciate knowing specifically what is not good about this review.

AtavanHalen
January 30th 2008



17927 Comments


I did read the whole thing- to me it sounded like a 4, 4.5 at most.
Your writing is too informal IMO- seems more like you're having a conversation with someone about the album as opposed to actually reviewing it.
Also, it's simple stuff like this:

A very well composed song, and a very powerful one.

What exactly is so good about it? Why is it so powerful? A bit more detail about which songs are the best (and why), and flaws that you see in the songs (guitar playing, lyrics, whatever).
And THAT's why I thought your review was too short, unjustified in rating and overall not as good as it could have been.

chris21
January 30th 2008



159 Comments


ive heard some of this album, i really like ptl.

completly agree with the review, got my vote.



voodooramen
January 30th 2008



14 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fair enough, atavanhalen. I am informal but I didn't think it would come off as a bad thing on this website, as well as my detesting of reviews that sound like a cookie cutter robot wrote them. I appreciate the crit, i'll try to be less informal next time.

Thanks chris, check out the rest of it if you can.

Mirror.Circuit
January 30th 2008



223 Comments


I have to agree with AtavanHalen.
I was skeptic of the 5 as soon as I read the summary,since to me "solid" albums don't get 5's,they get 4's or 4.5's(maybe).
It was a good review,but I think you need more on why exactly it's a 5.

voodooramen
January 30th 2008



14 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can understand the language bit, solid might not have been the greatest choice but using words like "great" or "outstanding" just seem redundant. I guess it comes down to how you interpret the words yourself. I did take into account other things with the "5" such as this being a debut LP, as well as the fact David Bazan played every instrument but bass and sang every track, of which he wrote all.

I'm kind of surprised though, I had no problems with people with the other "5" review I made a couple weeks ago, and I don't think it had a much different format. Once again thanks for the crit I will take into account how other people interpret words next time as well.

OrenRA
January 30th 2008



2 Comments


Good review.

Nikkolae
May 25th 2009



4823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is truly amazing, i just love bad diary days soo much

Digging: Clipping - CLPPNG

Athom
Staff Reviewer
July 26th 2009



17204 Comments


secret of the easy yoke>99.999999999% of all songs

PanasonicYouth
July 26th 2009



7411 Comments


bit of an exaggeration, eh, adam?

Athom
Staff Reviewer
July 26th 2009



17204 Comments


nah.

PanasonicYouth
July 26th 2009



7411 Comments


then apparently i need to hear it

zeppelinUSA
December 29th 2009



299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I checked this out because apparently Dustin Kensrue loves this guy...not seeing it

AlexTM510
March 9th 2010



1399 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

secret of an easy yoke is absolute cash

Digging: Sadistik - Ultraviolet

SeaAnemone
September 23rd 2010



19920 Comments


Album's horribly underrated. This is like the definition of easy listening for me.

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

Athom
Staff Reviewer
December 31st 2010



17204 Comments


peace be still

scissorlocked
September 4th 2011



3509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Album's horribly underrated. This is like the definition of easy listening for me."


sea said it all

Digging: Leon Vynehall - Music For The Uninvited

TenSecondsToThink
October 1st 2012



1218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Peace be still.

TenSecondsToThink
October 4th 2012



1218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Seriously, this album improves my life quality like crazy.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy