The Mars Volta The Bedlam in Goliath
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
P13
January 23rd 2008


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And: Ilvutar, where did you get the album? I want it so i can review it :D

i love frances, i don't even skip through it, weirdly enough.This Message Edited On 01.23.08

SubtleDagger
January 23rd 2008


737 Comments


Amputechture is better, it has the same problems with flow but at least all the parts they threw together were still cool
This album is just like TMV taking good ideas and then making them worse and worse by overdoing things

Intransit
January 23rd 2008


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Commortus, I'm pretty sure you haven't been around long enough to be a dickbag to anyone, especially with that laughably terrible meshuggah or whoeverthefuck review.



And maybe I seem like a "slobbering iluvatar fanboy" because we've been best friends (in real life, something that doesn't make much sense to you considering that the only thing you've left the internet for is the microwave). But then again, not really considering the fact that I'm probably one of his harsher critics.





StrizzMatik
January 23rd 2008


3520 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good album. TMV are writing actual songs again. With hooks even! With that said, there's a few tracks that flat-out suck, but most of the album is pretty damn good. "Goliath" and "Ourborous" are absolutely insanely great. And Pridgen = drumming God.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - The Perils of Time Travel

KritikalMotion
January 23rd 2008


2269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aberinkula is terrible.

MediocreAtBest
January 23rd 2008


1473 Comments


Where does this fall as far as greatness compared to De-Loused vs. Frances

dangit Iluv I must know who is in yer avatar

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
January 23rd 2008


4938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Frances is great but heavily overrated.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
January 23rd 2008


4938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah well no shit.

Acre
January 24th 2008


847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Frances is one of those albums that I wished I loved even more. In terms of execution, it's probably their best album. The writing is fantastic throughout, as well. It took a good two years, but it's finally grown on me.



If anything, De-loused is their most overrated.



Edit: Iluvatar, how can this be below De-loused for you when you gave Deloused a 3?This Message Edited On 01.23.08

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
January 24th 2008


4938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

because he's a fanboy that has no idea what he's talking about.



last 3 and a half minutes of Goliath ftw, is by far the best three minute chunk I've heard come from the mars volta.This Message Edited On 01.23.08

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
January 24th 2008


4938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You wouldn't have the gas money to do such a thing.

mynameischan
Emeritus
January 24th 2008


17960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

OooOoOoOoOooooOooo

PanasonicYouth
January 24th 2008


7413 Comments


Pardon my Chinese, but this album is fucking amazing.
I don't know why. I'm not too smarts with musicy terms and whatnot like timey signatures and the like, but I'm also very picky with what I'll listen to.
This is so different than most. I've been listening to this constantly since the leak.
My favorite track would be a 5-way tie. Conjugal Burns, Cavalettas, Goliath, Metatron, and Wax Simulacra. I can't freaking decide, but I'm starting to lean slightly towards Metatron.
So for me, the standing goes:
Amputechture
Frances the Mute<
The Bedlam in Goliath
De-Loused in the Comatorium
Yep..This Message Edited On 01.23.08This Message Edited On 01.24.08

AtavanHalen
January 24th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Entertaining review.

Album f*cking rules, nothing else needs to be said.

TheEarthVolta
January 24th 2008


13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album definitely rules.

Ouroboros is my fave so far...

got tons of listening left though.

KritikalMotion
January 24th 2008


2269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ouroboros is now my favourite track too.

evilmegaman
January 24th 2008


174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the only problem with your reviews is that there's not enough drama in the comments section













I want a picture of iluvatar and isitluck? so I can see if it's even physically possible for iluvatar to kick the other guy in the face. I want video PROOF.







oh yeah and I will totally have intarweb secks wiff you if you do that

iarescientists
January 24th 2008


5865 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

john is a bear lol

evilmegaman
January 24th 2008


174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mmmmmm bear-y











... but I am serious, the only thing missing from your reviews is more drama.





All you need is one line that will piss at least everyone off. that'd be so cool.

AtavanHalen
January 24th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Like what?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy