The Mars Volta The Bedlam in Goliath
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 23rd 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is underwhelming but not nearly as bad as Amputechture. I remember with Cedric's voice was wild and beautiful. Now it's just whining and grating. The album is much more streamlined and homogeneous as a whole. Right now I'm sitting on a 3 just because it's inventive and the grooves are dirty.

Acre
January 23rd 2008



847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ya, I feel the same way, DFelon. Although I disagree about the album being inventive. When I hear this album, I get the whole kinda "been there, done that" feel, like the band has run out of new ways to push themselves.

For example, does no one else realize that Ourobourus and Drunkship of Lanterns are the exact same track?

This is sitting at a 2.5 for me, and for a while I was contemplating giving it a 2.

evilmegaman
January 23rd 2008



171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dammit john, why do you review every single album I have an interest in O_o

pixiesfanyo
January 23rd 2008



1223 Comments


Amputechture is better than this record just to set things straight.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2008



16071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol @ that

and lol @ ouroborous and drunkship being the same song because the riffs are tuned almost the same.

edit: I'm going to edit this review down to a 4 because that what I feel the album "objectively" deserves. I also completely forgot my paragraph I planned on writing about the negatives (essentially Torniquet Man, Askepios and the fact 2 or 3 songs go on a minute or two too long)This Message Edited On 01.23.08

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2008



16071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My personal rating will be a 4.5, but the album is too long to justify that for a non far.This Message Edited On 01.23.08

combustion07
January 23rd 2008



5303 Comments


I can't wait to hear this band finally going to buy this cd tommorow hopefully. I hope its good, because I'm going to be out of money for awhile.

Intransit
January 23rd 2008



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

PTS, I'm honestly sitting here debating if you were either born deaf, or if you were born without any sort of logical reasoning skills. Stop hating TMV because you think it's the unpopular opinion and you want to look fucking unique or something.

combustion07
January 23rd 2008



5303 Comments


Who are you talking about???

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2008



16071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah dude some of the reasons he says for disliking their new albums are ridiculously stupid, because then in other reviews he praises similar artists for the same thing.
idc it gives people who dislike them a place to say "omg dood good revuew" and them I dont have to deal with them.

combustion07
January 23rd 2008



5303 Comments


So should I get this or not?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2008



16071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes you very well should.

combustion07
January 23rd 2008



5303 Comments


Cool then its final I'm getting this!

Amputee
January 23rd 2008



207 Comments


Ilyena, Metatron and Goliath are the standouts imo too, haha.

Acre
January 23rd 2008



847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good job, Intransit, you've figured it out. My unwavering scepticism of the Mars Volta's absolutely idiotic brand of musical masturbation is all a cleverly plotted ruse to make me disliked by Internet folk. Congratulations to you.
I'm sorry that the sound of Omar fondling his guitar doesn't give me a bonor like you. Obviously, I am less of a human than you. But just so you know, I wanted to like this so much. I would have been more than happy to write a positive review about this album. I would love to share the experience that everyone else supposedly got from this album. Instead, I walked away as dissapointed as ever, feeling like I had been betrayed by a close friend (or at least an unreliable drunk uncle.)
Yes, this is better than Amputechture, but not by much. That's my final verdict. It's not Jesus reincarnate, and it's not complete steaming shit. It's an average album, with three amazing tracks, three average tracks, and a whole bunch of stinkers. Intransit, get off your high horse. If you can't accept the fact that someone in the world might not love TMV, you're just ignorant.

...Sorry if that was a bit of a rant. I still love you all, kk? ;)This Message Edited On 01.23.08

Nobl3r
January 23rd 2008



1 Comments


It's certainly not as good as De-loused. Nothing has been as good as that album, in my honest opinion. This is really a step-up from Amputechture but there are too many annoying songs to really go nuts about it. There are about 4 decent songs, but the rest are unmemorable.

I'm starting to think De-loused was a fluke.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
January 23rd 2008



4925 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ilyena can suck mah ballz.
Seriously I think it's nothing special. I love the practical non-stop energy in Goliath.

Syncratic
January 23rd 2008



756 Comments


Good job, Intransit, you've figured it out. My unwavering scepticism of the Mars Volta's absolutely idiotic brand of musical masturbation is all a cleverly plotted ruse to make me seem disliked by Internet folk. Congratulations to you.

I'm sorry that the sound of Omar fondling his guitar doesn't give me a bonor like you. Obviously, I am less of a human than you. But just so you know, I wanted to like this so much. I would have been more than happy to write a positive review about this album. I would love to share the experience that everyone else supposedly got from this album. Instead, I walked away as dissapointed as ever, feeling like I had been betrayed by a close friend (or at least an unreliable drunk uncle.)

Yes, this is better than Amputechture, but not by much. That's my final verdict. It's not Jesus reincarnate, and it's not complete steaming ****. It's an average album, with three amazing tracks, three average tracks, and a whole bunch of stinkers. Intransit, get off your high horse. If you can't accept the fact that someone in the world might not love TMV, you're just ignorant.



...Sorry if that was a bit of a rant. I still love you all, kk?


Good God, no reason to be a douche about it...

Oh yeah, album is great...This Message Edited On 01.23.08

Confessed2005
January 23rd 2008



3314 Comments


If Pixies thinks Amputechture is better than this I seriously doubt this is going to be that great. I'll give it a listen anyway.

DWittisarockstar
January 23rd 2008



1501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope this is better than Amputechture. Amputechture was one of the biggest disappointments of my entire life.

And what is with people and De-Loused? FTM is a far superior album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy