Gazpacho Night
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2013



15787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn this is good

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

JS19
July 6th 2013



4161 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's better than good

Digging: Sadistik - Ultraviolet

JS19
December 7th 2013



4161 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why has someone changed the art to the remastered cover? : (

Underflow
February 15th 2014



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just heard the remastered version. Not sure which edition of this I prefer, but either way I'm debating 5ing this.

Gyromania
March 24th 2014



15198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

dream of stone is so fucking good

Underflow
March 24th 2014



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Man you're so lucky getting to hear that for the first time.

Gyromania
March 24th 2014



15198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this has to be the best song on the album. maybe even better than anything i heard on demon, which is saying a lot

Underflow
March 24th 2014



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Dream of Stone makes my skin shiver, The whole album rules though. Upside Down is incredible, too.

Gyromania
March 24th 2014



15198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

should i be checking out the remaster? because i'm currently listening to this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cz5rYWP956k

Underflow
March 24th 2014



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Either version is fine in my opinion. I've listened to both extensively, and they both have their pros and cons.

Gyromania
March 24th 2014



15198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

btw, i haven't said this yet but sweet avatar. shadows of the sun is my fave ulver album with blood inside being a close second

Underflow
March 24th 2014



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The remastered version has a couple of additional layers of sound and probably has a better mix overall, but the original sounds fine too.

Thanks, man. Shadows is one of my top 5 favorite albums.

Gyromania
March 24th 2014



15198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

initially set out to just check out the first track and head to bed, but now i'm nearly halfway through. who needs sleep? lol

i don't love shadows quite that much but it's still a phenomenal record. i'm partial to the sound ulver's evolved into as opposed to their earlier stuff. their last two records were excellent but i need to spend more time with them

Underflow
March 24th 2014



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha, sleep is indeed overrated.

I also enjoy post-bm Ulver. Shadows, Messe, Blood Inside, Svid Neger, and Perdition City are all fantastic.

Gyromania
March 24th 2014



15198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

perdition city yes < 3. svid neger came with a visual aid right? or rather it was a movie with an ost composed for it. i think i remember watching that at one point but that seems so long ago now. i do like their bm days as well, but not nearly as much.

also - this album. wow. some of the vocal melodies are out of this world. the ending of chequered light buildings is pretty much perfect.

Underflow
March 24th 2014



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha, yeah, Ohme's vocal melodies are otherworldly. Upside Down will blow your mind.

Yeah, Svidd Neger was a soundtrack. I've thought it was impressive how well that record works outside the context of the film.



Gyromania
March 24th 2014



15198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this strikes a perfect balance between quiet and loud. the climaxes are perfect and don't overstay
their welcome. upside down is for sure my favourite so far - the ending has such a calming, pensive
mood

Underflow
March 24th 2014



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Upside Down > Dream of Stone > Massive Illusion > Chequered Light Buildings > Valerie's Friends

Gyromania
March 24th 2014



15198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i love that the album ends by revisiting earlier motifs. overall very enjoyable, but it'll take me a few listens to rate it.

for me, atm, it goes:

upside down > chequered light buildings (i love the ending. the vocals in tandem with that organ) = dream of stone > massive illusion > valerie's friend

Underflow
March 24th 2014



2526 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Glad to hear you dug it man. I remember how blown away I was by it when I first heard it in 07. Still feel the same way today.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy