Protest the Hero Fortress
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyler
Emeritus
January 18th 2008



7928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bloodmeat is a better example, since he pushes higher and the harsh vocals at the end are way stronger.

HighandDriving
January 18th 2008



3261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bloodmeat is such a dirty song, the lil finishing breakdown is sick.

I'm really hoping there's other tracks that peak my interest as much as bloodmeat.

Digging: Nightmares - Suspiria

MediocreAtBest
January 18th 2008



1473 Comments


Hey Coke did anything stick out to you with the drumming on here? The only thing I could really pick out of your review about it was that the drums don't sound as clicky.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 18th 2008



7928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The drumming is awesome. Moe focuses on carrying the music and keeping it consistent than showing off but he gets his time to shine. I'm a big fan of his little fills on The Dissentience.

Thor
January 18th 2008



10168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Which is what he rightfully should do, seeing as how the other four members of the band are always going apeshit.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2008



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Okay so, I have a few points to make.
Much less lameass wankery, much more kickass wankery. Most (MOST) of the album fits very well now.
More variation, even if some of it does sound same-y probably just due to the tech-y nature of it.
Rody improved a lot. He still has a slightly off putting tone but as a singer he has definitely grown.
Coke's highlight tracks are right, except I'd also probably add "Limb From Limb."
4.

redpants
January 18th 2008



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm very excited for this, but the only problem I had with Kezia was the lack of dynamic. I hope this has more diversity, for lack of better words.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 18th 2008



7928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It does.

Kiran
Emeritus
January 18th 2008



6000 Comments


we will meet their blades by morning
protected only by your skin

bloodmeat gets me every time.

Digging: Cam'ron - Purple Haze

Tyler
Emeritus
January 18th 2008



7928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wait until bone marrow.

LifeInABox
January 18th 2008



3708 Comments


Bloodmeat and Bone Marrow...

spoon_of_grimbo
January 18th 2008



2240 Comments


for me, this album has a LOT to live up to. within a week of hearing it, Kezia pretty much entered the realm of "best albums ever" for me and a year on, that status hasn't altered. i personally can't pick a single bad thing about that album. i've never had a problem with layered vocals (and compared to a lot of bands, the layering on Kezia wasn't too excessive), especially harmonies. in fact, i'm a sucker for a good harmonized melody of any kind, hence why i found all of that album to be pants-creamingly amazing.

however, i have heard Bloodmeat and the chorus especially give me the same spine-tingly feeling i got when i first heard the melodic climax bit at the end of "no stars over bethlehem" so this bodes well.

review definitely gets my vote. i'm all for short reviews, but occasionally it's cool to have something a bit more in-depth to read. this review gave me a good idea of the sound of the album, and actually managed to make me EVEN MORE excited about hearing this!

rasputin
January 19th 2008



14512 Comments


Finally sat down and read the entire thing, great review. The couple of times that I have listened to Kezia were good, so I see no reason in not getting this.

Thor
January 19th 2008



10168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Did you come here to kill or did you come here to die?!"

What a fucking awesome line!

72haha72
January 19th 2008



436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm really anxious, I can't wait for fortress, KeZia was such a great album, I really really hope Fortress will actually be better, guess I'll just have to be patient (FUCK!)

Essence
January 19th 2008



3576 Comments


He is the epitome of hip, fo shiz.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 19th 2008



7928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like how he said KeZia too, rather than Kezia. Emphasiz on the Z.
Also I've passed the album on to the rest of the site staff. I believe Iluvatar will do a review as well so all you little girls who think my tilt is too overbearing (fuck off) or that this is too long (you're illiterate), he'll be ready to save the day with his usual repertoire of bad jokes and puns!

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2008



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

More like usual repetiore of joKes and pUnz.

Yeah you all can't wait.This Message Edited On 01.19.08

MediocreAtBest
January 19th 2008



1473 Comments


I can't. Seriously.

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
January 19th 2008



2806 Comments


I'm giving the post rock perspective.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy