Protest The Hero Fortress
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Acre
January 17th 2008



847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is gonna be wicked, I can tell already. I'm saving my album listening for when I actually have the CD in my hands, but this review makes me very pumped.

ninjuice
January 17th 2008



6758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, I actually only read half the paragraphs before skimming through the second half. I am really happy about this:

...since none of the tracks rely on a singular lead or solo (since there really aren't any), and the leads and shred serve more as emphasis than excess.

That's really the only major problem with Kezia to me.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 17th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

[quote=cocaine]Nick, I really don't see the A7x comparison at all. Theres one track where his voice gets all nasally but even still.[/quote]

It's not that they are similar. It's that their aesthetics are equally tasteless. That's why I said this might as well be them. PTH obviously have more time changes or whatever but ultimately they are cheesy in a tantamount way. Not unlike A7x.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2008



16071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Being cheesy isn't always a bad thing if you back it up

WITH THE SHREDZThis Message Edited On 01.17.08

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Tyler
Emeritus
January 17th 2008



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The cheese they employ is a lot different though. It's not like that Shadows faggot crying at the end of MIA, or a bunch of cliched Slash-knockoff solos or self-mutilating lyrics.

I dont see what's tasteless about this. At all. It can get excessive but that's more a result of all the things going on rather than parts being unnecessary (well, some parts in Sequoia Throne are unnecessary).This Message Edited On 01.17.08

rattlehead42147
January 17th 2008



1345 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Awesome review, I really can't wait for this.

beans
January 17th 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sounds like one amazing album cant wait for it to hit the shelves. nice review man, very detailed. But i wouldnt have expected any less from you.

Thor
January 17th 2008



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You could have made this review like three paragraphs shorter and gotten the same point across.

Can't wait for the album though.

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

Tyler
Emeritus
January 17th 2008



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I tried that. Honestly, it's still not that long. I couldn't find much to trim out, and there was still a lot more I had to say.

astrel
January 17th 2008



2613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I actually enjoyed reading it all the way through. I am also incredibly excited for this album.This Message Edited On 01.17.08

HighandDriving
January 17th 2008



3232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeye I want this album so bad.

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
January 17th 2008



2806 Comments


Bloodmeat's vocal climax is awesome. It's good to know that Sequoia Throne is one of the worst on the album since I thought it was just decent compared to most of Kezia.

I prefer your Soulja Boy review.

Thor
January 17th 2008



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I tried that. Honestly, it's still not that long. I couldn't find much to trim out, and there was still a lot more I had to say.

I thought that the huge paragraph on Rody's vocals rambled on and had some pretty gratuitous sentences in there.

It's not that long? Yeah, it definitely is. I read the whole thing and it took me at least twice as long as most other reviews on this site. There's definitely something to be said about brevity.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 17th 2008



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Theres something to be said about having something to say. It really isn't close to any of DFelon's Thrice reviews, and I went on about his vocals because I had to press the issue. What was gratuitous?
Honestly you just sound pissy because I didn't write a 600wd review. Short reviews are welcome but sometimes I have a lot to say. There's a reason we have soundoffs and I'll write one of those when I'm feeling better. It's a dense album, be it contextually, musically or thematically. So I reviewed it as such.

Thor
January 17th 2008



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There were places in that paragraph where setences just seemed to go on needlessly. And saying that Rody is clearly the vocalist? I'm pretty sure we all knew that.

I know DFelon's reviews are retardedly long, but comparing yourself to that still doesn't escape the fact that this became a chore to read by the end. I liked what you were trying to say, but I just think with a bit of editing this could be much easier to read and I could walk away with the same message.

astrel
January 17th 2008



2613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this argument is quite lulzworthy, if I do say so myself.

Tyler
Emeritus
January 17th 2008



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There were places in that paragraph where setences just seemed to go on needlessly. And saying that Rody is clearly the vocalist? I'm pretty sure we all knew that.

That wasn't my point. My point is that of emphasis, outlined clearly as a generic response to the notion that he doesnt do certain things vocally. I outlined the vocals in such detail because of the significance they hold and the variety in which they are executed.
I know it's long but calling it a chore is an insult and I'm really starting to wonder about some people.
It's under 2000 words and yeah, that's still really long, but if you cant sit through something that will still only take you 5 minutes to read, you've got bigger issues.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2008



16071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is seriously only a paragraph over two pages in Microsoft Word.
It isn't that long.

Wizard
January 17th 2008



18757 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think this review can be condensed a touch Coke. But your descriptions are so good that it might actually do it some harm, I don't know, you decide. Other than that, this has to be one of the better reviews on this site. I'm looking forward to hearing the whole album, but I have other priorities that need to be listened to before this (Neurosis's Enemy of the Sun, V:28's Violution and Soulsaviour). In some of my past posts, I complained about Rody's vocals. You were right in saying he has stepped them up alot since Kezia (judging from two songs).

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Tyler
Emeritus
January 17th 2008



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He's just matured as a vocalist. I know I could condense it, but that's why I'll do a sound off as well. I just had a lot to say, and because very few people have heard this yet, I wanted to establish some context for listeners to go in with.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy