Shape of Despair Angels of Distress
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
rasputin
November 9th 2011



14504 Comments


black wreath is not classic material

Hawks
November 9th 2011



33352 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Eh that Black Wreath album is a 3.5 at best for me.

rasputin
November 9th 2011



14504 Comments


http://diabolicalconquest.com/reviews/black_wreath-a_pyre_of_lost_dreams.htm

seedofnothing
November 22nd 2011



3425 Comments


m/




DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2011



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

black wreath is not classic material


to me it is :]

also looking at that review

There are four tracks here, of which only three are proper songs


not sure i trust a review that says something so meaningless

not to mention that the track that isn't "proper" whatever the fuck that means is like an eighth of the runtime of the record, and it's right at the end so you can easily skip it without killing the flow of the album if you're not a fan of it

but personally i love it, so yeah

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Shuyin
November 22nd 2011



10391 Comments


yea

Digging: All the Empires of the World - Sunscraper

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2011



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yea! [:

Dreamflight
November 22nd 2011



1760 Comments


It's a nice album for sure.

Shuyin
November 22nd 2011



10391 Comments


yea

rasputin
November 22nd 2011



14504 Comments


not sure i trust a review that says something so meaningless

not to mention that the track that isn't "proper" whatever the fuck that means is like an eighth of the runtime of the record, and it's right at the end so you can easily skip it without killing the flow of the album if you're not a fan of it

but personally i love it, so yeah


um how is that meaningless

it's completely out of place and destroys any cohesion that they sort of create in the first 3 tracks. saying it's at the end and you can just skip it is pretty dumb - THIS ALBUM IS PROB A 3/5 BUT THE SHIT PART IS AT THE END SO U CAN JUST SKIP IT 5/5

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

THIS ALBUM IS PROB A 3/5 BUT THE SHIT PART IS AT THE END SO U CAN JUST SKIP IT 5/5


thanks for conveniently missing this part of my post

but personally i love it, so yeah


i'm saying that as far as personal enjoyment goes you won't lose anything by skipping it so i don't understand why it's such a huge gripe with the reviewer. disliking it, fine i guess, i'm no arbiter of taste.

also i think the placement is perfect because after those three tracks i feel so emotionally drained that i wouldn't be able to take another track like the others so nidstong is perfect. plus i have a thing for low piano keys.

but then, i can totally empathize that it would seem out of place if the other tracks had little effect on you but to me they did. in fact, all three of them are some of the most powerful tracks I've ever heard in funeral doom. or ever. opinions are weird. :]

rasputin
November 23rd 2011



14504 Comments


i never said it was a huge gripe. if you look at the review, it's a positive rating

and if those are the most powerful tracks you've heard in funeral doom, you're doing it wrong

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

well it is a huge gripe otherwise you wouldn't have been able to write an entire paragraph about just that one track

i don't mind at all that you like it less than i do but telling me my emotional response to an album is "doing it wrong" is just ridiculous.

also i just thought i'd mention (and not in a derogatory way) that i seem to interpret the album's emotions far differently than you did, since i don't get an ounce of misery from the album at all.

rasputin
November 23rd 2011



14504 Comments


no it's not

a statement like that means zilch when you've listened to all but 4 funeral doom records

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah i'm not even going to bother responding to that since it simply just isn't true.

but i will say this

a statement like that means zilch when you've listened to all but 4 funeral doom records


i didn't say best funeral doom record, i said my favorite, there's a big difference. how can stating my personal favorite funeral doom record possibly mean nothing?

rasputin
November 23rd 2011



14504 Comments


lol how can it not?

overly praise a run of the mill record

important knowledge to be passed down the ages

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i can't believe that i even have to debate the fact that some people like things more than others on a music site of all places

you think it's run of the mill, that's fine, i think it's amazing, that's also fine. experience doesn't make you an arbiter of taste when it comes to something that's entirely subjective.

and if i may say

Another European doom act – with it, more misery.


this is why it isn't run of the mill for me, because the "misery" vibe is definitely not what i get from it whatsoever, which is one of many reasons why i like it so much.

but if you interpret it as misery-laden funeral doom that's just fine, but leave me and my opinion be

SCREAM!
November 23rd 2011



9552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

woa noctus in an argument

where is the :]

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this isn't so much an argument as it is

"my favorite album in [genre] is [album]"
"you are wrong"

which makes no sense at all :]

ShousoStrip
November 23rd 2011



574 Comments


awesomely classic album! full of sexy beats to dance to.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy