Chimaira Resurrection
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BuddyBigsby
December 7th 2007



531 Comments


This shit is straight nu-metal you fucking dorks.

south_of_heaven 11
December 7th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Pass Out of Existence was nu-metal. The rest was shitty groove influenced metalcore.

rasputin
December 7th 2007



14517 Comments


Good review. This doesn't sound like something I'd like.

Wizard
December 23rd 2007



19240 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review and album. I personally found their S/T to be flawless because of the guitar lines and drumming. That album is just solid from start to finish. This album was definitely a step down besides the song Six which was more in the vein of their S/T.

Digging: Cloak of Altering - Plague Beasts

bustyagunz
September 6th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Six is incredible

Wizard
September 6th 2008



19240 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Your telling me. Band is underrated!

Phantom
September 6th 2008



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They definietely are underrated. Six is very good. In fact most of this album is. It has more variation than their previous efforts.
I was also impressed by Mark's lower vocals in the mid section of the bonus track "Kingdom Of Heartache"
I'm also glad that Andols came back because he actual writes interesting drums parts.

Oh and I don't think this is nu-metal, it's pretty much straight up metal.This Message Edited On 09.06.08

Phantom
February 10th 2010



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally found out that the sample in the intro to The Flame as well as the children screaming that fades in and out in the outro of the song is from Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me . Very strange but interesting film.

bloc
February 10th 2010



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool, good ear Phanny. That's my favourite song off this.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Phantom
February 10th 2010



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Here's the link if you are interested, happens just after the intro credits: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nadVaj4dvrg

Have been relistening to this for the past week and it's still fun, nowhere near the s/t though. Six, Empire and Kingdom of Heartache are my fave tracks.

bloc
February 10th 2010



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Self Titled definitely rules all.

My top 3 are The Flame, Six, and Resurrection.

Deathmaker1
September 22nd 2013



24 Comments


HAHAHA @ review summary

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2013



1846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess this is overshadowed by Chimaira's previous self-titled album (which in my opinion is the band's career-defining record), but that doesn't mean that "Resurrection" doesn't deliver the goods. The first three songs for me are really powerful, solid pieces of heavy, groovy metal and the instrumentation is as solid as anything else the band had done before. However, after the unnecessarily long 'Six', for me the album seems to stagnate a bit. From 'No reason to live' through to 'End it all', it just seems like the band took a step back and produced average slabs of more or less the same sound and structure. Thankfully however this is more than made up for by the album's last few songs, especially 'Empire' which is very strong and consistent. So yeah, the middle part of this album for me is by far the weakest, but not weak enough to drag down the album's quality too much.

Digging: Black Anvil - Hail Death



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy