Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JumpTheF**kUp
April 5th 2006


2710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wow, Kim is goddamn evil. I remember listening to it in year 7 - when i was 12 - and it scared the living bejesus out of me. I was staring wide-eyed at the bus seat in front of me (i was lisenin to my walkman on the bus, my friend had lent me the tape) and just sat and stared until about halfway through when i pressed stop and fast-forwarded the rest of the way through it.
Anyway great review, you should write some more metal reviews.
Favourites off this album are Marshall Mathers, Kim, The Way I Am, B**** Please II, The Real Slim Shady and Stan.
Eminem Show had maybe 3 good songs on it (Sing for the Moment, White America etc.) and the rest were just absolute shyte.

terronez
April 10th 2006


3 Comments


Hmmm. a 5? How about 4.5. Some of the songs piss me off.

SpoTheDOg
April 14th 2006


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Without question his masterpiece. Brilliant rhyme schemes and a fearless approach to taboo issues. By far one of the most talented rap artists of his time. It's a shame to see his career going down hill with recent lack-luster efforts.

MyRamona
April 20th 2006


1075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^^Slim Shady lp was the masterpiece, it all went downhill from there. This is just so uneccessarily dark, It's actually too dark. This was just marketed at vulnerable kids.

MyRamona
April 20th 2006


1075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol, didn't really feel bad in the first place, but I do think he did it on purposeas he always uses the line 'this is a song that teenagers can relate to' or something similar.This Message Edited On 04.20.06

Iai
Emeritus
April 20th 2006


3553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

What's the deal with all my Eminem reviews getting bumped at once?

Sepstrup
April 20th 2006


1563 Comments


Hmm... I should check this album out. I only know a song or two, I think.

j.c
April 21st 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is the album that really brought hip hop into the 21st century and is quite possibly the most intimate reflection of an artists feelings in recent years this guy is seriously pissed off! anyone who had any doubts about eminem being a flash in the pan were certainly put firmly in their place ignore the first single "the real slim shady" it was just put on to make the album a bit commercial this is a dark masterpiece and is arguably the best hip hop album of all time . total classic.This Message Edited On 04.21.06

RockISdead420
April 23rd 2006


3 Comments


I noticed you said Jay Z wouldnt be what he is today without the success of this album...Ummmm not true.

Jay was selling millions before Em even had a major label deal.This Message Edited On 04.23.06

Iai
Emeritus
April 24th 2006


3553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Nowhere near as much as he is now, though. And it wasn't to millions of white kids in middle America, nor was it with the critical acclaim he enjoys now.

incubotic
April 28th 2006


78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Drug Ballad is the best song, then maybe Stan. I can see why people would give this a classic rating and it should be on the top 500 albums lists but

this is neither one of the best albums of this decade nor a 5/5 album IMO. Theres quite a few bad or mediocre songs. I used to really love this album but its not one i feel compelled to listen to now

Brain Dead
May 7th 2006


1150 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Really nice review. You pretty much nailed down anything I was going to say, so this review is kind of pointless. I would like to elaborate on your theme of the songs on this relating to the songs on the Slim Shady LP. Pretty much every song on here is a companion to a song on Slim Shady LP. Kill You=Role Model. Real Slim Shady=My Name Is. Criminal=Still Don't Give a F**k. The Way I Am=Rock Bottom. Just listen and you'll see what I mean. Also, The Way I Am is Eminem's best song ever, this is Eminem's best album ever, and to everyone who rates eminem bad just because they hate rap: f**k you. Any fan of music needs to own this PERIOD.

Emfanyellobrkrd
June 14th 2006


120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I enjoyed Kim, but it can be freaky the 1st 2 or 3 listens. Stan, and The Real Slim Shady are good too. My favorite is The Way I Am.

Emfanyellobrkrd
June 19th 2006


120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Under The Infuence has a really cool beat.

Meatplow
June 19th 2006


5524 Comments


Great review man, well balanced and full of informative facts.

I forgotten how chilling Kim is, listening to it right now inspired by this review. Goosebumps creep up my spine and i realise how pussy it does make a lot of other music sound in terms of being disturbingly surreal, yet it is a very realistic and f*cked up portrayal of the realities that inspired it.This Message Edited On 06.19.06

Emfanyellobrkrd
June 29th 2006


120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The first time I listened to Kim, I had the cd in my portable cd player, listening to it at about 2:00 a.m., with my headphones, and I admit, it did freak me out. I had to listen to it twice, to digest it all. I thought about the freaky lyrics, and couldn't sleep until after 3:30. Unfortunately, I can't find the cd, since were moving, so I think I'll download Kim, and listen to it now.(Once I'm done listening to SSLP...) I'm listening to Just Don't Give A F**k. I can relate to that, 5 times! Great review, though I think over the years, and after Encore, this album is becoming overrated. Just a little, not much. It does have some of his best songs, though. My favorite's The Eminem Show.

Waiting For The Sun
June 29th 2006


15 Comments


I dont even like hip-hop or rap but I do like drug ballad and the lyrics for the way i am, i respect the lyrics, i like some of tupacs lyrics but i mean RAP SUCKS.

Jim
June 29th 2006


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not a huge rap fan either, but his lyrical effort in The Way I Am is nothing short of perfection. C'mon people, he's a genius.

Emfanyellobrkrd
July 6th 2006


120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anyone who think's someone's stupid, just 'cause they're a rapper,(too many people do that) needs to quit assuming. I think Em's the smartest rapper, and is smarter (quicker learning I mean by that) than half of people could hope to be.

Volunteer
July 12th 2006


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really like to think of this album as a comedic theater pieace. Eminem plays several character as he tells his story and is very adept at altering his vocal styles with rapid pace. Once upon a time Rolling Stone said this was one of the top 500 albums of all time and at one time I may have agreed. But now that all the hype has died down, years later, I no longer feel this album is as smart as I once thought.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy