Burial Untrue
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2012



23634 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he just closes his eyes and sees the music in his mind's eye; it's how all musical geniuses function.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2012



20200 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

having to base your music around the confines of samples though, and finding those clips.

Of course you could just go skrillex and base your whole song around yesterday's youtube meme

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2012



30294 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't think he directly bases any of his beats around samples. I think he just gets snippets of songs in his head and sees if they fit within the beat

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

TheFonz123
December 30th 2012



2795 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'd have to agree with deviant. I think he has an image, and he pulls the different elements together to create that image, rather than starting off with an actual sound and adding everything else on.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2012



20200 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh I wasn't suggesting he did that. I was imagining how he'd fit a sample around a beat he'd created and make it sound so good. And he'd have to listen to it before he'd cut it all up and warped it. I mean I think I listened to the song the title track sample is from and it sounds nothing like what it does here. I just wonder how he goes about looking for them and picking them out.

These are the kinda things they should ask in interviews. Although I don't know how many of those there are in this instance

TheFonz123
December 30th 2012



2795 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You have to wonder if he was a genuine fan of ray-j or he just heard him on the radio and thought, "that would work nicely"

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2012



20200 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's the thing though. It sounds so far removed here from the original, how could he
have listened to that and know it was the right thing.

Creating a song perfectly from vision would be pretty hard tbh. The different sounds
would surely pull him in certain directions as he creates them, especially, as I said, when
the samples aren't fully in his control

TheFonz123
December 30th 2012



2795 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that's very true, the product is almost inevitably different from the what the artist had in mind. The idea is that you start with a vision and see where the execution takes you. i have a hard time believing that he did not have a vision of what is now a cliche to describe this album of rain in a city/ subway etc. He may not have intended to have the drums a little off, but when it happened, he probably realized it had value.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2012



30294 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You have to wonder if he was a genuine fan of ray-j or he just heard him on the radio and thought, "that would work nicely"


He could be, or he could have just heard it awhile back and remembered it when he was making 'Archangel'. I remember in an interview he talked about being too shy to work with actual singers (there's a story where he talks about living in a flat next to a girl who was apparently a singer* but he could never work up the nerve to ask her to work with him), so I think he just finds samples that meet his needs, no matter what the source

*I don't think she was anyone famous or anything, just some girl who he must have heard singing through the walls or something

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2012



20200 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Producing music is another thing. With most types of music you can pick up an old instrument and start making shreds of music, or just sing melodies, but production on software sounds much riskier and much more involved. Even at entry level you have to spew out some cash, and then you have to learn your way around the software enough to be able to realise your vision. I wonder how they go about creating many of the sounds and effects these producers make

TheFonz123
December 30th 2012



2795 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well a lot of them probably already have an understanding of computer technology on some level, and recognising they have a talent, decided to use software as their outlet rather than a guitar or drum set. It's difficult to imagine the average person choosing to learn about the quirks of technology rather than a traditional instrument if they don't already have a backround

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2012



30294 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You've also got to remember that Burial was sending Kode9 tunes like 5 years before anything was officially released. He didn't just pop out of nowhere with a mastery of software, he's spent time learning the craft. Of course that idea of refining your sound before releasing anything has kind of become moot in the age of bandcamp/soundcloud etc when anyone can upload "my first dubstep tune"

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2012



20200 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

always makes me wonder why some people vilify technology as an inferior and coward's approach to music making

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2012



30294 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It all depends on how it's used really. Like I kinda get the whole argument against things like pro tools and auto tune (not to like the extent of someone like T Pain, but just general touch ups) because I think you're taking a very real human source and robbing it of any kind of humanity, to the point where it's just synthetic noise and manipulated. But using it from scratch, like an electronic producer.... well, then you're getting into that argument of "a laptop ain't even an instrument brah"

Wolfhorde
December 30th 2012



11796 Comments


Probably because it led to the creation of a lot of incredibly boring stuff. And because David Robotnik.. I mean Guetta and his likes took over the club/charts.

Of course this is an incredibly narrow-minded way to look at things as there's something interesting in almost every form of music. It's just as stupid as people believing that any form of metal or rock needs more musical talent/skills than any other form of music.

I mean I thought I'd dislike everything even closely resembling R&B and the likes until I found out about How To Dress Well this year.

TheFonz123
December 30th 2012



2795 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well I think that is a type of refinement. By releasing amateur tracks as you improve, you essentially chronicle your development. burial may have spent his time doing that in an otherwise empty room, but had he started in say, 2011, he may have taken a similar approach and we may have been able to see the proccess as he uploaded his newest songs as he went along. Not everyone on soundcloud will be any where near as good as burial; only the ones that spend enough time and/or have a lot of talent just like only the people who spend time refining their craft in a room who are good enough will find success. I don't know if the increasing interactiveness of the web will change success stories so much as it will offer a different vehicle for the same process.

TheFonz123
December 30th 2012



2795 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well I think that is a type of refinement. By releasing amateur tracks as you improve, you essentially chronicle your development. burial may have spent his time doing that in an otherwise empty room, but had he started in say, 2011, he may have taken a similar approach and we may have been able to see the proccess as he uploaded his newest songs as he went along. Not everyone on soundcloud will be any where near as good as burial; only the ones that spend enough time and/or have a lot of talent just like only the people who spend time refining their craft in a room who are good enough will find success. I don't know if the increasing interactiveness of the web will change success stories so much as it will offer a different vehicle for the same process.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2012



20200 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There was a producer who released an album recently (can't remember her name off the
top of my head) and in one of the supporting interviews she stated that computers are
the best method of portraying human emotion because of their broad range of sonic
potential, or something along those lines. I don't know if I completely agree with that but
I kinda get her point

As for autotune, that's always bugged me. Especially when bon iver do it, cos I actually
give a shit about their music

TheFonz123
December 30th 2012



2795 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Also commercial success and quality music have never necessarilly been parallel. Hacks like guetta and skrillex being popular has more to do with the fact that electronic music in general has become much more mainstream in America than ever before. When the popularization of electronic was happening certain people wanted to cash in on the success which has been and will always be the case for all genres.

TheFonz123
December 30th 2012



2795 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"yeah they're not really thinking it through."


This is one of the drawbacks. THeir mistakes as artists will forever be immortalized whereas burial's earlier stages were kept to himself. For example, considering Justin Bieber actually has musical talent he will probably make good music at some point. But because the music he made as a twelve year old was released to the public, he will forever have to deal withh the fact that he made "baby". If the first song burial ever made was released, he would probably be embarrassed by it too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy