Dark Tranquillity Projector
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
November 9th 2007


16132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

...Because the only thing that I got from this review was how the singer is underwhelming even though he doesn't sound like a dying animal and how the music is mellower. Not a good review in my book.
My suggestion would be to take an interpretive reading class, and stop taking it out on the reviewer because it's fairly clear... and believe me, I'm one of the first assholes to get irritated if a review doesn't seem to have enough description.

Edit: Had to go back and quote because someone posted while I was rambling... Remembrance, did you pick this up yet?This Message Edited On 11.09.07

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Reign_In_Blood_89
November 9th 2007


298 Comments


A good review has to give the reader the overall feel of the album, give it the positives and the negatives, not make it seem fanboyish, not make it seem like a never ending rant on how they don't like the album, and most of all entertain the reader. This review barely gave me the feel of the album, he made stupid references, and it did not entertain me.

Foodforthegods
November 9th 2007


425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is fantastic. Free Card, Therein, undo control amd Dobermann are classic DT songs for me. The experimentation is wonderful and sweet for the ears. This album has a nice vibe in overall. Not my favorite DT but still in the best beside Character, The Gallery and Fiction.

Remembrance
November 9th 2007


45 Comments


@ willie

Yeah i did pick this up together with Between the buried and me - colors. Listening to the other one atm...will listen to this tonight i think

Altmer
November 9th 2007


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A review isn't necessarily meant to entertain though humour makes for good reading I find.

Mikesn
Emeritus
November 9th 2007


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

A good review has to give the reader the overall feel of the album, give it the positives and the negatives, not make it seem fanboyish, not make it seem like a never ending rant on how they don't like the album, and most of all entertain the reader. This review barely gave me the feel of the album, he made stupid references, and it did not entertain me.

This post confuses me because I'm looking over my review right now and I am seeing how I describe the sound of the album, most notably when I talk about how Projector is a departure from the aggressive, riff based melodeath to a more accessible keyboard based melodeath. My references are pretty good because Anders and Bjorn do sound like dying animals (!), Stanne does have a similar tone to Matt Barlow and Day to End and On Your Time are the most radical changes in Dark Tranquillity's sound thanks to keyboards and electronics. And the review is entertaining because of all the jabs and Anders Friden, In Flames, and Soilwork who are both horrible. Thanks for playing though!
----------------------------------------------------------
Post may or may not be totally serious, but your critisism is not really helpful.This Message Edited On 11.09.07

ToWhatEnd
November 9th 2007


3172 Comments


Just a few nitpicks; [quote=second paragraph sent. 1-2]Don't get me wrong though. This is definitely a good album, it's just missing something.[/quote] This reads pretty funny, I think there should be a comma after though instead of a period and vise versa for after album. [quote=final paragraph last sentence]And for what it's worth, Projector definitely better than anything In Flames, Soilwork, or Hypocrisy have done lately.[/quote] Should be an 'is' after Projector. Just pointing out, not meaning to be anal. This was another solid review. Someone must not be able to read very well if all they got out of it was that the singer was underwhelming. This Message Edited On 11.09.07

Wizard
November 10th 2007


19616 Comments


Why do assholes rip apart and nit pick the best reviews on this website? Your description of this album was very clear and concise Mikesn. This is the only DT album I don't own. It's interesting enough that when I have money, I will pick it up!

Digging: Hans Zimmer - Interstellar

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2007


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The people who didn't like this review are clueless and have a low IQ. He described this album perfectly.

Wizard, if you don't mind Stanne's clean vocals you'll love this. I think it shows a whole other side of DT, it is a very overlooked album.

Reign_In_Blood_89
November 10th 2007


298 Comments


Well you need to stop s ucking his D ick

Wizard
November 10th 2007


19616 Comments


Oh, Ive listened to this album before and it was decent. Speaking of DT albums, I was so impressed with your 'Mind's I' review, that I went out and bought it the next day. Probably one of the better DT release's, but nothing can top Character IMO.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2007


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well you need to stop s ucking his D ick


You need to stop speaking, because the world is a better place without your words.

I think Character is actually one of DT's more average releases.

Zoo
November 10th 2007


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is probably one of my least favorite DT albums. How I would rank the DT discography: Damage Done> Fiction>The Gallery>Character>Haven>The Mind's I>Projector>Skydancer

Good review, Mike. I completely agree about Stanne's vocals here.

@Crysis. I added quite a bit to my review, if you wanted to check that out. I know you were interested.

Wizard
November 10th 2007


19616 Comments


Well you need to stop s ucking his D ick

Oh wow, another retarded 12 year old whos being derogatory towards others. Thats original! We need to do screens on new members around here.

Reign_In_Blood_89
November 10th 2007


298 Comments


Do you even know what derogatory means.

Reign_In_Blood_89
November 10th 2007


298 Comments


Plus...just so you guys could know I did not neg this...I just didn't think that it was all that great.This Message Edited On 11.10.07

Wizard
November 11th 2007


19616 Comments


My bad, derogatory is kind of the word I was looking for, but it doesn't entirely work in this case.
Just don't be a douche bag and resort to insulting people's opinion. Be a bit more constructive with your thoughts and opinions!


Willie
Moderator
November 11th 2007


16132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8

Speaking of DT albums, I was so impressed with your 'Mind's I' review, that I went out and bought it the next day. Probably one of the better DT release's, but nothing can top Character IMO.
Projector was the first DT album I bought, so maybe that's why I am able to like it so much, because it's still my favorite by them. On the other hand, Minds I was the next one I bought, and I didn't like it because I expected something closer to Projector... I haven't heard Minds I in years now.

Aeksis8745
August 4th 2008


448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yea I just bought this the other day and I think it is definetly better than Minds I. The production was done a whole lot better on this, while on the Minds I i'm always having to crank the volume all the way up just to hear it clearly. My favorites on this are Therein, The Sun Fired Blanks, and Nether Novas(which is a monster of a song).

FadeToBlack
April 24th 2009


11034 Comments


I thought The Mind's I was really good, there wasn't really any bad songs on it, and Hedon and Insanity's Crescendo were insane. I need to pick this album up when I get the chance.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy