Converge Jane Doe
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I disagree. Just because you love listening to a certain kind of genre doesn't mean you can separate between good or bad albums in that genre. Knowledge (theoretical, musical knowledge, not historical knowledge) isn't necessarily going to come just because you like a genre and listen to a lot of it. Loving a genre and knowing about it isn't directly tied together. I mean it often does but it's not a necessity. Now the average deviation from the average rating of someone that loves the genre is definitely gonna be smaller than that of people that hate it but at the same time the amount of people who love a genre and 'overrate' the albums in it is higher than the amount of people who hate a genre and 'underrate' albums in it which in the end maybe, probably, hopefully evens out. bla bla bla averages are a cool thing.

Also I'd say that your rating variance in a genre you love is going to be smaller than in a genre you feel neutral towards.
IDK if it makes sense, no time atm :/

plane
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2013


6094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album really is better than even the hyperbole

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2013


21969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it's good I guess

JS19
April 22nd 2013


4311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

-----I disagree. Just because you love listening to a certain kind of genre doesn't mean you can separate between good or bad albums in that genre. Knowledge (theoretical, musical knowledge, not historical knowledge) isn't necessarily going to come just because you like a genre and listen to a lot of it. Loving a genre and knowing about it isn't directly tied together. I mean it often does but it's not a necessity. Now the average deviation from the average rating of someone that loves the genre is definitely gonna be smaller than that of people that hate it but at the same time the amount of people who love a genre and 'overrate' the albums in it is higher than the amount of people who hate a genre and 'underrate' albums in it which in the end maybe, probably, hopefully evens out. bla bla bla averages are a cool thing.

Also I'd say that your rating variance in a genre you love is going to be smaller than in a genre you feel neutral towards.
IDK if it makes sense, no time atm :/-----

Obviously you're going to look a bit more favorably on something if you like the genre, but it's not anywhere near the same as going 'it just sounds like screaming' and rating all, say hardcore, albums you hear super low just because you don't 'get' the genre. that's what i was on about. if you understand the complexities of a type of music you'll be better at noticing what's well done and what's original and what's formulaic crap.

Digging: Lights - Little Machines

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh yeah I agree. If you just don't 'get' something you definitely should not rate or at least not take the ratings too seriously. My point basically is that (dis)liking and (mis)understanding are two different categories.

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listened to this once btw and hated it, but that was when I basically only listened to Metallica m/

TheNexus100
April 22nd 2013


2533 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

shut up

Digging: Carrion Spring - A Short History of Decay

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

b nice

PunchforPunch
April 22nd 2013


6280 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

chill

Digging: Robert Hood - Fabric 39

Gwyn.
April 22nd 2013


15122 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

came here only to provoke everyone with my rating. sup sputnik?


omg you like this album i am so fucking mad grrrr

oltnabrick
April 22nd 2013


30913 Comments


Be positive

Digging: Suicideyear - FACT mix 462

BigPleb
April 23rd 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

RIDDLED WITH

FAULTS AND

FRAC TURES

demigod!
April 23rd 2013


44569 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

cmon man bump that rating

Digging: Fugazi - Repeater

TheSpirit
April 23rd 2013


17885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i think this is probably my fourth favorite from them.

Digging: Wreodan Heahl - Laecig

demigod!
April 23rd 2013


44569 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

behind what?

BigPleb
April 23rd 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't love any song off of here as much as that though

demigod!
April 23rd 2013


44569 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

gotta learn to love this thing as a whole bro..one of the most cohesive albums

BigPleb
April 23rd 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

But it's kinda weak aka Distance and Meaning, Homewrecker...

Tyrael
April 23rd 2013


20885 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You Fail Me, When Forever Comes Crashing Down and Axe to Fall are definitely better

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

demigod!
April 23rd 2013


44569 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

both are incredible, holy shit how can you not love homewrecker, song punks hard

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy