Converge Jane Doe
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
WolvesInTheWalls
April 22nd 2013


192 Comments


Petitioning + YFM + AtF > this imo

Havey
April 22nd 2013


9809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i vehemently disagree :D

Digging: Billie Holiday - Lady Day: The Best of Billie Holiday

DrHouseSchuldiner
April 22nd 2013


5643 Comments


Metal lives \m/

WolvesInTheWalls
April 22nd 2013


192 Comments


i vehemently disagree :D

< 3

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


11636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

came here only to provoke everyone with my rating. sup sputnik?


you finding this album good will surely provoke lots of people

Digging: Zhu Xiao-Mei - Scarlatti: Piano Sonatas

CrimsonLies
April 22nd 2013


2045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I enjoy All We Love more than this but I'll give this another listen

ethixx
April 22nd 2013


1170 Comments


funny that everyone thinks jane doe is the best song, that was one of my least favorites forever

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


11636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what a flag XD

Artuma
April 22nd 2013


16028 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"so mad"

shouldn't have posted that comment but i still don't get the hype around this album, possibly just not my type of music after all

Digging: Taake - Stridens hus

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


11636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that's perfectly fair but why rate it a 3 if you don't think it's good?

Artuma
April 22nd 2013


16028 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

it is not bad, i really like the title track but not worth a 4.4 average imo, the singer is the one who drags this down a lot for me

WolvesInTheWalls
April 22nd 2013


192 Comments


shouldn't have posted that comment but i still don't get the hype around this album, possibly just not my type of music after all

woah who knew differing tastes existed

JS19
April 22nd 2013


4412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, voting on genres you don't like is kinda pointless

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


11636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so is voting on genres you love then

JS19
April 22nd 2013


4412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How so? If you like a genre, you know what separates a good example of it from a bad. If you hate a genre then you're not going to like an album whether it's fantastic or awful.

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


11636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I disagree. Just because you love listening to a certain kind of genre doesn't mean you can separate between good or bad albums in that genre. Knowledge (theoretical, musical knowledge, not historical knowledge) isn't necessarily going to come just because you like a genre and listen to a lot of it. Loving a genre and knowing about it isn't directly tied together. I mean it often does but it's not a necessity. Now the average deviation from the average rating of someone that loves the genre is definitely gonna be smaller than that of people that hate it but at the same time the amount of people who love a genre and 'overrate' the albums in it is higher than the amount of people who hate a genre and 'underrate' albums in it which in the end maybe, probably, hopefully evens out. bla bla bla averages are a cool thing.

Also I'd say that your rating variance in a genre you love is going to be smaller than in a genre you feel neutral towards.
IDK if it makes sense, no time atm :/

plane
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2013


6100 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album really is better than even the hyperbole

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2013


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it's good I guess

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

JS19
April 22nd 2013


4412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

-----I disagree. Just because you love listening to a certain kind of genre doesn't mean you can separate between good or bad albums in that genre. Knowledge (theoretical, musical knowledge, not historical knowledge) isn't necessarily going to come just because you like a genre and listen to a lot of it. Loving a genre and knowing about it isn't directly tied together. I mean it often does but it's not a necessity. Now the average deviation from the average rating of someone that loves the genre is definitely gonna be smaller than that of people that hate it but at the same time the amount of people who love a genre and 'overrate' the albums in it is higher than the amount of people who hate a genre and 'underrate' albums in it which in the end maybe, probably, hopefully evens out. bla bla bla averages are a cool thing.

Also I'd say that your rating variance in a genre you love is going to be smaller than in a genre you feel neutral towards.
IDK if it makes sense, no time atm :/-----

Obviously you're going to look a bit more favorably on something if you like the genre, but it's not anywhere near the same as going 'it just sounds like screaming' and rating all, say hardcore, albums you hear super low just because you don't 'get' the genre. that's what i was on about. if you understand the complexities of a type of music you'll be better at noticing what's well done and what's original and what's formulaic crap.

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


11636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh yeah I agree. If you just don't 'get' something you definitely should not rate or at least not take the ratings too seriously. My point basically is that (dis)liking and (mis)understanding are two different categories.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy