Converge Jane Doe
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JS19
April 22nd 2013


5566 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How so? If you like a genre, you know what separates a good example of it from a bad. If you hate a genre then you're not going to like an album whether it's fantastic or awful.

Digging: Converge - You Fail Me (Redux)

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


16721 Comments


I disagree. Just because you love listening to a certain kind of genre doesn't mean you can separate between good or bad albums in that genre. Knowledge (theoretical, musical knowledge, not historical knowledge) isn't necessarily going to come just because you like a genre and listen to a lot of it. Loving a genre and knowing about it isn't directly tied together. I mean it often does but it's not a necessity. Now the average deviation from the average rating of someone that loves the genre is definitely gonna be smaller than that of people that hate it but at the same time the amount of people who love a genre and 'overrate' the albums in it is higher than the amount of people who hate a genre and 'underrate' albums in it which in the end maybe, probably, hopefully evens out. bla bla bla averages are a cool thing.

Also I'd say that your rating variance in a genre you love is going to be smaller than in a genre you feel neutral towards.
IDK if it makes sense, no time atm :/

Digging: Emmanuel - Installations

plane
Emeritus
April 22nd 2013


6293 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album really is better than even the hyperbole

anarchistfish
April 22nd 2013


24854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it's good I guess

JS19
April 22nd 2013


5566 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

-----I disagree. Just because you love listening to a certain kind of genre doesn't mean you can separate between good or bad albums in that genre. Knowledge (theoretical, musical knowledge, not historical knowledge) isn't necessarily going to come just because you like a genre and listen to a lot of it. Loving a genre and knowing about it isn't directly tied together. I mean it often does but it's not a necessity. Now the average deviation from the average rating of someone that loves the genre is definitely gonna be smaller than that of people that hate it but at the same time the amount of people who love a genre and 'overrate' the albums in it is higher than the amount of people who hate a genre and 'underrate' albums in it which in the end maybe, probably, hopefully evens out. bla bla bla averages are a cool thing.



Also I'd say that your rating variance in a genre you love is going to be smaller than in a genre you feel neutral towards.

IDK if it makes sense, no time atm :/-----



Obviously you're going to look a bit more favorably on something if you like the genre, but it's not anywhere near the same as going 'it just sounds like screaming' and rating all, say hardcore, albums you hear super low just because you don't 'get' the genre. that's what i was on about. if you understand the complexities of a type of music you'll be better at noticing what's well done and what's original and what's formulaic crap.

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


16721 Comments


Oh yeah I agree. If you just don't 'get' something you definitely should not rate or at least not take the ratings too seriously. My point basically is that (dis)liking and (mis)understanding are two different categories.

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


16721 Comments


Listened to this once btw and hated it, but that was when I basically only listened to Metallica m/

TheNexus100
April 22nd 2013


2696 Comments


shut up

treeqt.
April 22nd 2013


16721 Comments


b nice

PunchforPunch
April 22nd 2013


6279 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

chill

Gwyn.
April 22nd 2013


16725 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

came here only to provoke everyone with my rating. sup sputnik?




omg you like this album i am so fucking mad grrrr

oltnabrick
April 22nd 2013


34797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Be positive

BigPleb
April 23rd 2013


45834 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

RIDDLED WITH



FAULTS AND



FRAC TURES

demigod!
April 23rd 2013


47965 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

cmon man bump that rating

Digging: Giles Corey - Giles Corey

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
April 23rd 2013


20471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i think this is probably my fourth favorite from them.

Digging: Arizmenda - Beneath This Reality of Flesh

demigod!
April 23rd 2013


47965 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

behind what?

BigPleb
April 23rd 2013


45834 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't love any song off of here as much as that though

demigod!
April 23rd 2013


47965 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

gotta learn to love this thing as a whole bro..one of the most cohesive albums

BigPleb
April 23rd 2013


45834 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

But it's kinda weak aka Distance and Meaning, Homewrecker...

Tyrael
April 23rd 2013


21005 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You Fail Me, When Forever Comes Crashing Down and Axe to Fall are definitely better



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy