Parkway Drive Horizons
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
duluthtragedy
December 7th 2007



5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Parkway is without a doubt one of the best metalcore bands today. no offense, but i would take a review written by someone who goes by "reznor" about as seriously as i take NIN. Your review became meaningless with one sentence: "The bass and guitars do serve their purpose, but they aren’t anything groundbreaking" The guitar work on this album is what makes it a great metalcore album. You admit that you're not a fan of metalcore. Then what business do you have reviewing metalcore albums? I hate country music, so any country album i reviewed would bound to be negative and not give the credit where it was due. Not only all of this, but you fucking CHANGED the score you gave it? wow. how bout a little professionalism? how about some maturity? go review some tired ass old bullshit industrial metal or something. i give this review 1.5 stars. *EDIT* 1 star.

rasputin
December 7th 2007



14516 Comments


You're a dumbarse. For one thing, my name has nothing at all to do with Nine Inch Nails. I haven't even listened to more than 2 of their songs. I just think Reznor is a cool name, and I have been using it for over 3 years. And no, I'm not a fan of metalcore, I prefer metal. That doesn't mean I don't like metalcore, nor does it mean I don't know anything about metalcore. I also don't see anything wrong with changing a rating. Over time, a person's opinion on music can change. If you did a country album your rating would be negative because you're a biased prick. When I review, I put bias aside. That's why my own rating is occasionally different to the rating I've given in a review. Don't think you know me, you're just a stupid dickhead who thinks the world of himself.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
December 7th 2007



2125 Comments


how about some maturity? go review some tired *** old bullshit industrial metal or something. i give this review 1.5 stars. *EDIT* 1 star.


Pot Kettle Black

rasputin
December 7th 2007



14516 Comments


There goes my 100 percent approval
But I should have seen it coming, doing a Parkway Drive review. Silly little fanboys always think they know best.This Message Edited On 12.06.07

duluthtragedy
December 10th 2007



5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it's funny that A) you would lower your rating of an album for a second time just to try to piss me off (makes me feel kind of special, actually) and B) that you call ME a biased prick when you've given basically all of the records that you've reviewed of the bands you have listed as your favorites 4.0 ratings or higher. You are a joke.

Bands youve given 5's to: Black Sabbath, Metallica, Opeth, and Pink Floyd

Of those 4, how many are in your favorite bands: all 4

# of bands you've given 4.5's to: 24

# of those that are LISTED in your favorites: 17

really? WOW. who's biased?

AtavanHalen
December 10th 2007



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't disagree with the review, as I haven't heard the album.
But I don't think it's very well written.

rasputin
December 10th 2007



14516 Comments


Well yeah, I lowered my rating because you reminded me of how much Parkway Drive suck.
And you seriously are a stupid dickhead. Of course I'm going to give my favourite bands good ratings, becuase I think that they deserve the rating. I'll spell it out for you, because you're far too fucking stupid to understand anything:
1. Reznor listens to an album
2. Reznor really enjoys the album, so he gives it a good rating.
3. Over time, the band that made the album becomes one of Reznor's favourites.
How is there bias involved in that? I said you were biased because you were criticising MY OPINION, rather than the review itself. If you want to go off without looking like a complete tool, un-neg my review and I'll be happy. This is my last reply to you, I've wasted enough time with your idiocy.

rasputin
December 10th 2007



14516 Comments


But I don't think it's very well written.

I suppose it could do with a re-write, it's one of my earlier reviews. I still stand by it though.

AtavanHalen
December 10th 2007



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's got potential, for sure.
I plan to rewrite some of mine over the holidays.

rasputin
December 10th 2007



14516 Comments


yeah, I might do that as well now that you mention it. Some of my earlier ones are 'lacking', relative to more recent reviews.

duluthtragedy
December 10th 2007



5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha. Un-neg your review. So THATS why you're so defensive. Your precious percentage went down. Im incredibly surprised it was at 100 for so long. There's no way I'm gonna undo that. You simply don't deserve it.

Statements like

"I lowered my rating because you reminded me of how much Parkway Drive suck"

after saying things like

"in terms of a live show, and making good, standard heavy music, they are a very strong outfit"

prove that you really don't care about the music itself, but rather your reputation as a reviewer (the word critic would be a severe overstatement). It's all about image for you, and unfortunately the image you present is more like that of a 12 year old.

Its people like you who bring down the credibility of freelance internet critics everywhere, and it makes me sad. Try judging music on its merit alone, and leave your personal crap out of it, or else don't bother writing reviews at all. It's about the MUSIC.

Oh, and its pretty funny that you'd call me a fanboy. Whatever makes you feel better, I guess. I don't have any loyalties to or biases for any band. I listen to albums of a broad range of genres and judge them individually based on the value of the content. I didn't neg your review for the rating you gave, i did it for the poor writing. Deal with it.

duluthtragedy
December 10th 2007



5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hey, yeah, maybe if you rewrite it, ya know, BETTER, i would un neg it. Im not so sure youre capable though....

rasputin
December 10th 2007



14516 Comments


Oh yes, I do care about my reputation as a reviewer. It sets me apart from dumb-arses like you. And I did very much like my 100 percent rating, it was my best friend and we had chocolate snacks together.
I do admit saying they sucked was a little harsh, that's purely my opinion. Objectively, they make standard metal, and put on a good live show. I still stand by that, and I even went and saw them live a few weeks ago. When I reviewed this album, I enjoyed to an extent and then filed it away. I haven't touched it since. There was my error in the review; I gave them the benefit of the doubt that the album would hold my interest, but it didn't. So my change in the rating is entirely reasonable. And now, I actually do think this album is pretty sucky, because I know if I put it on I'll be bored to hell.
Your dribble about 'judging music on its merit alone', and 'personal crap' is just ridiculous. My entire review is void of any 'personal crap', and I've judged the music completely from what I purchased in a little case with a cd. To be quite frank, it's actually people like you who bring down the credibility of sites like this, because rather than actually saying anything appropriate, you piddle out of your ass thinking you've got a pair. Like so:

no offense, but i would take a review written by someone who goes by "reznor" about as seriously as i take NIN

OH WHOA YOU'RE SO SMART TO MAKE ASSUMPTIONS
Not only all of this, but you ****ing CHANGED the score you gave it? wow. how bout a little professionalism? how about some maturity? go review some tired *** old bullshit industrial metal or something

HOW UN-HYPOCRITICAL BECAUSE YOU'RE SO MATURE
you call ME a biased prick when you've given basically all of the records that you've reviewed of the bands you have listed as your favorites 4.0 ratings or higher

NOBODY CARES
It's all about image for you, and unfortunately the image you present is more like that of a 12 year old.

IRRELEVANT. NOBODY CARES

Hey, at least you've tidied up your grammar after talking with me. I also know that I did say I wouldn't reply to you, but I just couldn't help it. You're bumping my review, and seriously though, it's aaaaallll about the publicity.This Message Edited On 12.10.07

rasputin
December 10th 2007



14516 Comments


hey, yeah, maybe if you rewrite it, ya know, BETTER, i would un neg it. Im not so sure youre capable though....

Well, I did say I would re-write it. Don't think you'll get any praise for it though. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

rasputin
December 10th 2007



14516 Comments


I just re-read the review, and I honestly don't think there's a problem with it. It does need some re-grouping of ideas, I seem to change direction quite a bit. It's not one of my better reviews, but definitely not a poor review.

fazzy
December 21st 2007



17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good review. i tend to agree. if you're into hardcore you'll enjoy it. but the songs are built around breakdowns and the lyrics are pretty generic. after a few listens i got bored

fazzy
December 21st 2007



17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

also, bias aside, bands like opeth actually deserve ratings of 5. this however, is basically just another melodic hardcore album. sure they're more technically skilled than most, but theyre hardly creative, nor doing anything groundbreaking

craigy2
December 29th 2007



551 Comments


very good review! definitely didn't deserve a neg. i need to get the physical copy of this methinks (my rating is based off the myspace stream) as I've been listening to a few of their songs recently and really like them all the negging and criticism of this review is really immature imo.

rasputin
December 31st 2007



14516 Comments


cheers for the comments guys.

blackened07
December 31st 2007



949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What a dumbass he just signed up to defend this cd which he only gave a 3.5.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy