Say Anything In Defense of the Genre
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 22nd 2007



3760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea, after a decent listen, i think i can honestly say i like ...is a real boy better. Mostly because i do actually like the chorus hooks that were in there, and sure they can get annoying sometimes, but their really do hold my interest and i find them stuck in my head for ages afterwards. Tis record doesn't seem to do that. I mean the songwriting and music itself is awesome, but nothing yet really grabs me and throws me around.This Message Edited On 10.22.07

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

chorky
October 22nd 2007



1 Comments


This was the best album I've heard in a long time. Great review. And Hayley Williams rocks in both songs she does. I'm not even a Paramore fan, but she just did an amazing job.

CarloVonSexron
October 22nd 2007



25 Comments


Excellet review man, good work. I'll definitely try to get this. Should I start with this or their past records?

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 22nd 2007



3760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Get Is A Real Boy, then this. It's interesting just to see the evolution of sound and they're both pretty good.

Kaleid
October 22nd 2007



710 Comments


Formidable review. Don't worry about the length, it probably deserves it. I want this.

I like your last lineThis Message Edited On 10.22.07

trayers11
October 22nd 2007



1 Comments


After one run through I can say this album doesn't disappoint. Second album is more of the say anything I like...grittier/angier. Disc one sounds better the second time around. Def grower.

bil4l
October 23rd 2007



2 Comments


Does anyone know what the song "No Soul" is about?

lunchforthesky
October 23rd 2007



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0


I was sure this would be the first time a Sputnik reviewer ever rated an album higher than AbsolutePunk, but I should have known they'd come through a sterling 96%.


haha good call. I saw that earlier, 96% what a joke. I post there a lot but the reviews are not only pretty average but their ratings are so stupidly high.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007



2633 Comments


I really want to see the logarithm/formula/whatever for how they calculate those percentages. I think "Reviewer Tilt" gets way more representation in the review than it should, for instance. I like AP's style, but their reviews are really crazy sometimes.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Reviewer tilt on AP pretty much account for 90% of the final rating. Its stupid because I wanted to be number one on the metacritic page =(.
I shall change it to a 5!!!
btw got my copy today mmm so good.

lunchforthesky
October 23rd 2007



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You can't fault AP as an actual website as it's all really well done, but the reviews are just such a joke.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ive noticed a heavy reliance on wiki and amg for reviews of older albums on that site.

And a heavy reliance on Nick Greer for newer albums as well!!!This Message Edited On 10.23.07

Jom
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007



2633 Comments


lunchforthesky: right, my thoughts exactly, you just wrote them better.

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007



6085 Comments


The album is hard to get into if you're not invested, but it hits hard in certain songs and even more so as a collective whole. "The Church Channel" is so awesome.

but idk i could raise it!This Message Edited On 10.23.07

lunchforthesky
October 23rd 2007



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0


Ive noticed a heavy reliance on wiki and amg for reviews of older albums on that site.


Most old reviews on Sputnik are pretty hideous too though to be fair.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 23rd 2007



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I used to have a heart" came on shuffle today and then I realized it should be called "I used to have a load" because I totally blew one after I heard it.

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Most old reviews on Sputnik are pretty hideous too though to be fair.

I mean when they review older albums now. Or years later after their release.

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007



6085 Comments


[quote=IsItLuck?]"I used to have a heart" came on shuffle today and then I realized it should be called "I used to have a load" because I totally blew one after I heard it.[/quote]
Just quoting so no edit can ever, ever take this away.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 23rd 2007



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought about what I was writing as a submitted it. I stand by it.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

thanks I will give you guys an interview later for your positive sentiments!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy