Say Anything In Defense of the Genre
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 21st 2007


4939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just found that out.

204409
Emeritus
October 21st 2007


3998 Comments



Hey Dfel: http://www.sayanythingmusic.com/node/151


That was really stupid. Tim Kinsella wins by a big margin but still sounds like an idiot.

StrizzMatik
October 21st 2007


3524 Comments


Say Anything are absolutely terrible. I watched the sampler trailers for the new album and every thing I heard wasn't even near a 1/5. This band is terrible. They're rated high for being sorta experimental within their genre but ultimately are a mix of a poor man's Gatsby's America Dream and a crackwhore's Further Seems Forever. Oh ya and that's not even bringing up the aloof Panic references.


I don't see the Gatsby comparison at all. Besides it's not like GAD were the first pop-punk band to throw in weird time sigs or unusual melodies anyways, Descendents have been doing that for like 20 years (maybe not in the same way but still). And as for pop-punk bands I would easily put Say Anything in the top-tier, far above their contemporaries (Panic, FOB, Red Jumpsuit Faggaratus, MCR, etc.) at any rate. Bemis writes some great songs and his hooks kill.

Two-Headed Boy
October 21st 2007


4527 Comments


I'm kinda looking forward to this, but ...Is a Real Boy didn't blow me away as much as I had anticipated. Nevertheless, I'll pick it up. Good review.

Serpento
October 21st 2007


2351 Comments


No, yeah, I get the Gatsby's comparison, but I don't see how Say Anything are a poor man's version of the band. They take the good of that band and make it more accessible to everyone, like the Descendents or Latterman (wow, that was a stretch.)

This album is tempting but I'm not expecting much, so I'll give it time.

JumpTheF**kUp
October 22nd 2007


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After listening to it a solid 3 or 4 times, I can finally say that this is excellent.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 22nd 2007


3871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea, after a decent listen, i think i can honestly say i like ...is a real boy better. Mostly because i do actually like the chorus hooks that were in there, and sure they can get annoying sometimes, but their really do hold my interest and i find them stuck in my head for ages afterwards. Tis record doesn't seem to do that. I mean the songwriting and music itself is awesome, but nothing yet really grabs me and throws me around.This Message Edited On 10.22.07

chorky
October 22nd 2007


1 Comments


This was the best album I've heard in a long time. Great review. And Hayley Williams rocks in both songs she does. I'm not even a Paramore fan, but she just did an amazing job.

CarloVonSexron
October 22nd 2007


25 Comments


Excellet review man, good work. I'll definitely try to get this. Should I start with this or their past records?

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 22nd 2007


3871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Get Is A Real Boy, then this. It's interesting just to see the evolution of sound and they're both pretty good.

Kaleid
October 22nd 2007


724 Comments


Formidable review. Don't worry about the length, it probably deserves it. I want this.

I like your last lineThis Message Edited On 10.22.07

trayers11
October 22nd 2007


1 Comments


After one run through I can say this album doesn't disappoint. Second album is more of the say anything I like...grittier/angier. Disc one sounds better the second time around. Def grower.

bil4l
October 23rd 2007


2 Comments


Does anyone know what the song "No Soul" is about?

lunchforthesky
October 23rd 2007


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0



I was sure this would be the first time a Sputnik reviewer ever rated an album higher than AbsolutePunk, but I should have known they'd come through a sterling 96%.




haha good call. I saw that earlier, 96% what a joke. I post there a lot but the reviews are not only pretty average but their ratings are so stupidly high.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007


2890 Comments


I really want to see the logarithm/formula/whatever for how they calculate those percentages. I think "Reviewer Tilt" gets way more representation in the review than it should, for instance. I like AP's style, but their reviews are really crazy sometimes.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Sing The Word Hope In Four-Part Harmony

lunchforthesky
October 23rd 2007


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You can't fault AP as an actual website as it's all really well done, but the reviews are just such a joke.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2007


2890 Comments


lunchforthesky: right, my thoughts exactly, you just wrote them better.

plane
Emeritus
October 23rd 2007


6312 Comments


The album is hard to get into if you're not invested, but it hits hard in certain songs and even more so as a collective whole. "The Church Channel" is so awesome.

but idk i could raise it!This Message Edited On 10.23.07

lunchforthesky
October 23rd 2007


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0



Ive noticed a heavy reliance on wiki and amg for reviews of older albums on that site.




Most old reviews on Sputnik are pretty hideous too though to be fair.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 23rd 2007


4939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I used to have a heart" came on shuffle today and then I realized it should be called "I used to have a load" because I totally blew one after I heard it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy