Say Anything In Defense of the Genre
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
plane
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2007



6085 Comments


I really don't see any of this as filler. I just think some of the songs can't hold that much weight of being in such a long running time. Individually though, they all rule, and still do as a full album.

lunchforthesky
October 20th 2007



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Its like we're both gay but im a chick and your a dude amirite.


Word.


I really don't see any of this as filler. I just think some of the songs can't hold that much weight of being in such a long running time. Individually though, they all rule, and still do as a full album.


Filler is a really lame word, I don't know why I used it but none of the songs are bad, had they just taken the really top tier of this album however and made it into a 12 song album it would be pretty much flawless pop punk. Where as the kinda drags down by just having so much and not a tonne of variation.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think at most I could ever cut 4-5 songs just to make it one disc.Even then, those 5 songs are better than ...Was a Real Boy


pinurwingsback
October 20th 2007



27 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nothing say anything ever does will measure up to ...is a real boy. sorry

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2007



6085 Comments


Save for about five minutes, ...Is and ...Was make up about the same length as In Defense of the Genre, so I think the problem stems from how they went about dividing the album. This makes more sense since they planned it out that way, so it works in terms of its dual album concept.This Message Edited On 10.20.07

Cesar
October 20th 2007



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You made me very interested in this. NEED a stream now!

pinurwingsback
October 20th 2007



27 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

its released tuesday, or i can hook someone up if they hit me up on aim...

whatsayyou69


JumpTheF**kUp
October 20th 2007



2710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is a grower for me.

fathergoat
October 20th 2007



55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am really enjoying this. I am just starting disc 2, but so far I've really really liked everything.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 20th 2007



3761 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, ily ilu.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

The Jungler
October 20th 2007



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've been pumping myself up for this all week. I'll try and find some kind of link soon. If anyone could hook me up, that'd be awesome.
Nice review Iluvatar.


DFelon204409
Emeritus
October 20th 2007



3995 Comments


I'm not even a Kinsella fanboy but that comparison is absurd. Say Anything are absolutely terrible. I watched the sampler trailers for the new album and every thing I heard wasn't even near a 1/5. This band is terrible. They're rated high for being sorta experimental within their genre but ultimately are a mix of a poor man's Gatsby's America Dream and a crackwhore's Further Seems Forever. Oh ya and that's not even bringing up the aloof Panic references.

Cesar
October 20th 2007



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I disagree.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Hahaha the Kinsella reference was about a vague argument Bemis has with Kinsella.

Thor
October 20th 2007



10176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you surprised the hell out of me with this album, john. it's quite good.

descendents1
October 20th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It feels almost on par with ...Is a Real Boy but man it's good for being so damn long.

iarescientists
October 21st 2007



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey Dfel: http://www.sayanythingmusic.com/node/151

AtavanHalen
October 21st 2007



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Never heard of this band, but lately have been recommended their stuff.

I'm gonna get this for sure.

Great review.

McP3000
October 21st 2007



3941 Comments


Well, im not a fan of this band. ...Was a Real Boy sounded really "cutesy". I dunno, like another run of the mill poppy trash band that actually went to their music classes.

I think i'll give this a listen since its so well liked though. Can't hurt.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

If you dont like things that are catchy in a pop way you will hate this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy