Ulver Shadows of the Sun
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
September 28th 2008



34484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it took me a while to get into it too. It definitely grew on me though. All of Ulver's other non-metal albums kind of blow IMO.

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

fireaboveicebelow
September 28th 2008



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I guess opinions can be wrong!

BallsToTheWall
November 11th 2008



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

8 weeks later and my Shadows Of The Sun T-shirt arrives. ELITE!!

foreverendeared
November 11th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what's it look like?

BallsToTheWall
November 11th 2008



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Black with a grey and white hawk around a dark grey sun and something. It's the one on rockabilia.

bboss
November 22nd 2008



3 Comments


i'm a big ulver fan (at least of their post black metal stuff), and i found this release not to be as accesible as the official website
of the band stated. It took me a while to digest it , but after i few tries i ended up liking it a lot. Only one thing to object to all
the reviews and interviews i've read: i don't feel that this album is sad at all . Sure, it's low key, but sad? On the other side the
promotional photos and coverart are really confusing to me. That's because the artwork gives the sensation of a really hot and
dry place and the photos are really cold (the one where the guys are in some kind of lake and dressed up in a sunn 0))) -esque
fashion). Maybe this is no big deal to most people, but i've always felt that the related visual material should set the tone of the
album. This is specially important to me since its a very atmospherical album. Anyways, great albumThis Message Edited On 11.22.08

Dayvan Cowboy
April 17th 2009



63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

atmopsheric, isolationist, beautiful.
awesome album.

BallsToTheWall
April 18th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This has grown to be one of my favorite Ulver albums, surpassing Nattens Madrigal and Perdition City. Up there with Bergtatt.

jingledeath
April 18th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still prefer Perdition City over this

Sabottheory
April 19th 2009



355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is excellent album, though it doesn't reach the awesomeness of Perdition City (*in love*) and Blood Inside (*in love*). Solitude's cover is the best thing on here.

fireaboveicebelow
April 19th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's hard to compare those because each of them are fairly different

does anyone know why the ulver news got deleted

Sabottheory
April 20th 2009



355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What Ulver news?

Wizard
May 25th 2009



19223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is amazing!

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

BallsToTheWall
May 25th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's more like it Wizard. I feel Ulver's b.m output gets far too much spotlighting whereas their experimental side goes by underappreciated by the sputnik community.


What Ulver news?

Hawks
May 25th 2009



34484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah album definitely rules.

Wizard
May 26th 2009



19223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's more like it Wizard.

I prefer Perdition City, Blood Inside, and this to their first three albums tbqh. This is way more cerebral.

fireaboveicebelow
May 26th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ulver needs to release a dvd for that live show

jingledeath
May 26th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one which i'll be able to download illegally

Wizard
May 27th 2009



19223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Admitting to illegal downloading should be ban worthy hahahaha.

I think I played this 3 times in a row last night and I'm still hearing all the little subtle things jump out at me.

Willie
Moderator
May 27th 2009



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He's in Turkey (or somewhere like that) where downloading most likely isn't illegal. It's definitely out of the reach of RIAA-like organizations.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy