Exodus The Atrocity Exhibition... Exhibit A
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
south_of_heaven 11
October 17th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Four times through crappy myspace streaming? Errr...
Album does sound better with it not on being streamed, since it leaked. It's still not amazing, but it's at least a 3.5

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2007



17920 Comments


If you can't form an adequate opinion on something you don't like after four listens then you are mentally challenged.

Crimson
October 17th 2007



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If you can't form an adequate opinion on something you don't like after four listens then you are mentally challenged.

Heh, that's an awesome little saying you've got there.


south_of_heaven 11
October 17th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm really, really starting to like this...sounds so much more powerful with better production tbh. Garden of Bleeding still kinda stinks.

Wizard
October 17th 2007



19231 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sorry Kal,
I didn't read that you had actually listened this 4 times. I retract my comment above. Four times is enough to know if the album is good or bad.

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

south_of_heaven 11
October 17th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Title track is now good.

zeromus
October 18th 2007



1 Comments


I registered just to say this: you say you "know your thrash" yet argue with the palm muting. Do you complain that the guitars, bass, and drums are getting a bit old? That's rock: you use those instruments. Is the distortion and vitriol getting old? Thats metal. Tired of the muting? _This is thrash_. You build your songs around those riffs. You are right, it is taken for granted that the muting will be there. Literally the most thrilling moment of my life was when scar spangled banner spat its first muted riff at me and I knew exodus was still here after its hiatus and taking itsself seriously.

The weird chord in the title track has made its appearance in all the albums since tempo of the damned. It is a trademark of sorts.

I concede the freshness isn't here. But that is because this album is exodus pared down to its essentials, which are then executed perfectly. If you want new thrash in 2007 you can't find anything better than this.

south_of_heaven 11
October 18th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So I basically love this now. Yeah. As good as TotD in my eyes.

Brain Dead
October 18th 2007



1150 Comments


basically your first two paragraphs say: you shouldn't base your opinions on albums off of genre landmarks, and Exodus have changed a bit throughout their career. Yet, via, thesaurus rapage, you manage to stretch those two easily articulated thoughts into a full page of text. Jesus christ man, you need some quality control. Streamline your reviews, because reading shit like this just isn't fun.

Kiran
Emeritus
October 20th 2007



6000 Comments


I feel like such a retard. I learned like 3 new words reading this review.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

kalkal50
October 22nd 2007



2386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Hehe. Trust me, I haven't used a thesaurus since I first started writing and I was prematurely creaming myself just in the excitement of using big words.

Okay, listening to an album 4 times over isn't the longest you could ever listen. But I think it's better to give it a few listens rather then force it on yourself. The first thing i noticed when I listened to this album is that the replay value is really bad, so logically I knew the more I listened to it, the worse it would get. It was clear, since from my 1st to 2nd, and 2nd to 3rd listen etc, the album just kept getting more insipid.

squidbilly
October 22nd 2007



1 Comments


kal,i guess if it's not death metal or follow the death metal formula it's not good huh?
your opinion means nothing based all your other reviews.
you need a thesaurus,because you try to hard,it's apparent,your a closed minded death metal freak who hates just to hate. i can dig that, it's cool to hate, but the new exodus record is a guitar players and drummers wet dream,the vocals aren't great but they work for Exodus.the music is damn good,songs may be a little long but that's what bay area thrash is, stick to reviewing death metal.

Mikesn
Emeritus
October 22nd 2007



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

ya, if you like death metal there is no way you can be objective about thrash metal, silly kal

kalkal50
October 23rd 2007



2386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

kal,i guess if it's not death metal or follow the death metal formula it's not good huh?

your opinion means nothing based all your other reviews.

you need a thesaurus,because you try to hard,it's apparent,your a closed minded death metal freak who hates just to hate. i can dig that, it's cool to hate, but the new exodus record is a guitar players and drummers wet dream,the vocals aren't great but they work for Exodus.the music is damn good,songs may be a little long but that's what bay area thrash is, stick to reviewing death metal.


silly me.. enough sillyness
maybe you need to listen to some Bonded By Blood or Pleasure to Kill, then you can give me your little lecture about my death metal close-mindedness
and maybe you need to open your mind to the fact that my vocabulary is broader then yours and youre just a pathetic fanboy who likes this because it has r00lsauce brutal palmmuting (to quote)

south_of_heaven 11
October 24th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hey Kal, scroll down till you see Gary666's posts...that's Gary Holt. :lol:

http://www.exodusattack.com/toxicwaltz/viewtopic.php?p=354425#354425

EDIT: Just read the whole thread. Obviously, I'm South of Heaven11 there.This Message Edited On 10.24.07

kalkal50
October 24th 2007



2386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

omg hahaha
I don't know why I compared them to Ulver
I really wanna know what others on sputnik think about the albumThis Message Edited On 10.24.07

south_of_heaven 11
October 24th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hahahaha Gary is a really cool dude, he's got the mentality of "You can't please everyone".
Rob Dukes also tends to post on there every now and then, but it's usually Gary.

kalkal50
October 24th 2007



2386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

he called me a cawksucker, but at least I got pwned by someone famous
I'll listen to this album when I get home, and I seriously have to work on making my reviews sound less choppy it's killing me

believe me I love Thrash metal though and the introduction was only to show that I wasn't basing this album on the likes of Bonded by Blood
that album pwns all the wayThis Message Edited On 10.24.07

south_of_heaven 11
October 24th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hahaha but he said he was just kidding! He just said he doesn't give a rats-ass what you think about the album!

kalkal50
October 26th 2007



2386 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, obviously I would need to kiss ass. He should take some criticism though; I listened to this album again today and it just sucks as much as last time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy