Thrice The Alchemy Index Vols. I & II
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Spectrum
October 14th 2007



347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Burn the Fleet" has got such a grandeur about it, I love it. The music works with the lyrics so well, I'd happily be lead into battle in such a manner.
And yeah, "The Flame Deluge" is pretty intense.

flancexander
October 14th 2007



32 Comments


yup, it's amazing.

KritikalMotion
October 14th 2007



2259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Messenger is easily my favourite, followed by Digital Sea.

Kiran
Emeritus
October 14th 2007



5992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I fucking love Lost Continent.

JumpTheF**kUp
October 14th 2007



2708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is 4 for me.
Needs a few more listens for it to get up to a 4.5.
Can't wait for Interpunk to send me this.

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
October 14th 2007



2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still haven't listened to Fire on a proper listening medium, but Water is amazing.

Geedrummer
October 14th 2007



607 Comments


downloading this now. if its good i shall purchase a legit copy.

KritikalMotion
October 14th 2007



2259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

New Thrice and a couple of new Thursday songs at the same time!

YAY!.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
October 14th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks for the spot XMII. The turnaround on this review was like 7 hours so there are bound to be little blips and errors.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
October 14th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

And by the way, something nobody has noticed yet and I couldn't really fit into my review is that you can tell the last two tracks are the sonnets just musically. Thrice announced that the song in the first Alchemy Index trailer video was a sonnet. The ending of "The Flame Deluge" and "Kings Upon the Main" both have the same choral motif to close the song, which is also present in that first video. It's cool that in the sonnet form, each volta has the same musical content despite the fact that the preceding material is drastically different (as in Fire vs. Water vs. Air vs. Earth). I think I'll mention that in the completeness part of my second review that takes into account the whole collection.

iarescientists
October 14th 2007



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

water fucking rules

KritikalMotion
October 14th 2007



2259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

fire fucking rules

Otisbum
October 14th 2007



1912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

earth is gonna ****ing rule

Going back to listen to this.

JumpTheF**kUp
October 14th 2007



2708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thrice fucking rules
^_^

Confessed2005
October 14th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whatever happened to tribestros' crappy review of this?

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
October 14th 2007



2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He wanted it deleted or he'd sue.

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 14th 2007



3743 Comments


he'd sue or ign would?

innerdark
October 14th 2007



749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This thing is massive.

Not listened to it yet, I hate mice pace streams.

In a weird way, I hope it's not "Kid A and the Infinite sadness" since those are 2 albums I've never really got

ace review though Nick

DFelon204409
Emeritus
October 14th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'd also like to say that this is the first Thrice album that hasn't blown me away on first listen. By the 6th it was right up there with my impression of the others but it was all slowgoing for some reason. Probably because "Digital Sea" just isn't very good.

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
October 14th 2007



2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like "Digital Sea", I think "Open Water" is the weakest of that disc. "Lost Continent" to the end of that disc is absoutely incredible though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy