Thrice The Alchemy Index Vols. I & II
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DFelon204409
Emeritus
October 12th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's a bit too late now so fuck it. I already wrote my opening and concluding statements.

SubtleDagger
October 12th 2007



737 Comments


Best track on Water is Night Diver, I can't pick the best track on Fire
The Whaler is really good but the end is stupid
I like the Water disc but it's just not really adventurous for them aside from Night Diver and a few other spots, Fire doesn't really sound like anything else that they've done and reminds me of a lot of other bands I love like Deftones or Isis

ScelusNefas
October 12th 2007



274 Comments


MASSIVE, i can't wait to buy this, good job on the review

DFelon204409
Emeritus
October 12th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Fire doesn't really sound like anything else that they've done and reminds me of a lot of other bands I love like Deftones or Isis


I like that about Fire. However, Fire wasn't completely out of the blue for me if you consider this from my Vheissu review.

[quote=me]They have grown intelligent beyond their precocious
beginnings but haven't become absolute masters of the craft they're trying to create. They have ditched their old punk grittiness but haven't managed to embrace their future sound. I can't place a finger on their final destination, but I sense it's going to push together arena and progressive rock with really avant garde hardcore.[/quote]

The Fire disc is that prediction but because it's only Fire, it's mostly just the "really avant garde hardcore" part of the mix. A lot more metal than I expected too but such is the Fire.

SubtleDagger
October 12th 2007



737 Comments


Yeah it's more metal than they were on Vheissu and the chord progressions are just ridiculously well thought-out (plus it's just so experimental even with the heaviness, I mean The Messenger sounds like it could be the most generic crapcore song ever by some Norma Jean-ish band but they made it into an awesome song anyway just because they're that good

The thing about Water though is aside from a few select moments, I could basically play "Atlantic" from Vheissu and tell someone that Water is an album of thatThis Message Edited On 10.12.07

Tyler
Emeritus
October 12th 2007



7926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mammoth review. I'll wait until I buy this to read it all, but I'm sure it's great.

CushMG15
October 12th 2007



1802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Like most others, I skimmed the review. It appears to be well written tho. This disc is going to take some time, but it's pretty tight so far.

Two-Headed Boy
October 12th 2007



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty monster-ass review. I've been listening to The Illusion of Safety a bit, so after I pick up Artist and Vheissu I'll give this a go.

Really great work on the review, too. I'll admit I skimmed through about half, but great stuff regardless.This Message Edited On 10.12.07

ToWhatEnd
October 12th 2007



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Loved the review, read every word. I greatly admire your writing and work ethic when it comes to Thrice. Both Fire and Water were impressive IMO. I really like how Fire was not TIOS or TAITA part II. It was so unique and at times downright weird like you said. But all in a cool way. Water was just gorgeous and...well...I could say anything and everything I liked about it but your review sums it up. Really dug the production on it. Can't wait until Tuesday so I can buy it!

Fina1e
October 12th 2007



123 Comments


The outro to Firebreather is phenomenal.

tribestros
October 12th 2007



918 Comments


This review is massive. Well-written though.

gasmaskman
October 12th 2007



1006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't been listened to Thrice that much at all (though I saw them live, but back when I only knew TAITA song)...but I don't see where the hype is going...maybe I just have to listen to this some more.

tribestros
October 12th 2007



918 Comments


Ugh this album is so...average. Thrice has been trying so hard to be different, and The Alchemy Index is the epitomy of this...yuck. Thanks a lot Thrice.

SubtleDagger
October 12th 2007



737 Comments


IGN.com: Games, Cheats, Movies and More
IGN is the ultimate gaming and entertainment resource featuring award winning coverage of video games, cheats, movies, music, cars, sports, babes, ...
www.ign.com/ - 244k - Cached - Similar pages

Doppelganger
October 12th 2007



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

****, I hate this site. Why do I keep coming back? I think this may very well be the last post I make.

You disappointed me, tribestros.

P.S. massive review etc. I skimmed through it, but it seemed like pretty great stuff.This Message Edited On 10.12.07

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2007



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ughhh cannot fucking wait

MrKite
October 12th 2007



5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Never heard any Thrice, but I want to hear this badly.

Kiran
Emeritus
October 12th 2007



6001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Monstrous review. Tremendously in depth.

I'm totally loving Fire more than Water after two full listens. Though, Water is excellent as well.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2007



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thrice releases Kid A and the Infinite Sadness


sold.This Message Edited On 10.12.07

Willie
Moderator
October 12th 2007



15911 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Awesome review, I read the whole thing (Why not, I'm at work anyway)... I'm trying to wait til Tuesday so I can put it on my home stereo (as opposed to streaming it) and take it all in.

Ugh this album is so...average. Thrice has been trying so hard to be different, and The Alchemy Index is the epitomy of this...yuck. Thanks a lot Thrice.
What I take from this is, "This won't be played 20 times a day on the radio, and teenage girls certainly won't rave about it, so I'll just go back to my Foo Fighters and other generic rock".

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy