Bruce Springsteen Magic
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnXDoesn't
October 3rd 2007


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Springsteen is great. My chemistry teacher plays his stuff all the time in class. =D


the songs really come through when he plays i bet. great lyricist, Bruce. what songs does your teacher play?This Message Edited On 10.03.07

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 3rd 2007


3742 Comments


rolling stone gave this a 5/5.



just sayin'.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2007


2676 Comments


Born in the USA, at the Japanese embassy :p

JohnXDoesn't
October 3rd 2007


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rolling stone gave this a 5/5. just sayin'.


Rolling Stone is a tad over enthusiastic. David Fricke. i mean he's a fine journalist. certainly can't question his skill or review. its an accurate review (although he calls it the most "openly nostalgic record Springsteen has ever made." i don't find that) but some Rolling Stone reviewers have gone about giving "classic" ratings to brand new albums. i think a "classic" album in rock n roll needs some time to hold up. if it grows, remains incredible, stands the test of time (however long that is) and is somewhat timeless itself, then it can be considered a classic imo. but other then that why even bother being that lofty with a rating?

This Message Edited On 10.03.07

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rolling Stone's 5 are a little different than our 5's really I think. Remember, they also gave Devils & Dust a 4.5, when well...album was probably a 3, maybe 3.5 depending on how much you liked the title track at any given time.

JohnXDoesn't
October 3rd 2007


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i remember they used to print the meaning of the ratings in the mag. don't know if they still do. but it was 1 star poor, 2 average, 3 good, 4 excellent, and 5 classic. don't know if that is what they're still doing, though.This Message Edited On 10.03.07

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I meant their classic rating is more determined on an immediate impact than ours normally are. Essentially they have less strict "guidelines" than we do. Always has been like that with RS.

JohnXDoesn't
October 3rd 2007


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hmm, well that is interesting. well by those standards, yeah. within the Bruce catalog and among his work in general, this places among his classics. i'm not sure where it places, but it does. for me its all new, but familiar still. not nostalgic as some have suggested. although i'm sure that is subjective. bruce has called it "current." i tend to agree. This Message Edited On 10.03.07

BludgeonySteve
October 3rd 2007


558 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've heard about 4 songs from this and they were very good. To all da playa h8as, dun cross Da Boss innit.

Akira
October 4th 2007


328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So I got this the other day. The Boss did not let me down. This is a really quality album. I'm not sure if their are any really standout anthems up to the level of like Thunder Road, but a great album nonetheless.

Yyy
October 4th 2007


289 Comments


i'll probably listen to this but it would've been nice if the title was a little less mundane

JohnXDoesn't
October 4th 2007


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5


So I got this the other day. The Boss did not let me down. This is a really quality album. I'm not sure if their are any really standout anthems up to the level of like Thunder Road, but a great album nonetheless.



yeah i don't think stand out anthems are whats going on with this album. i'm just glad no BITUSA style anthems are included. i think Gypsy Biker is like a little anthem, of sorts. a center peice to the album, although not its strongest cut. and i've read it takes off in concert. Devils Arcade, as well. Livin' In The Future is pretty big R&B. i like it.


the new stuff is working into the new tour very well next to his older stuff on the setlist. setlist for the tours official opening night a couple days ago:


Radio Nowhere
The Ties That Bind
Lonesome Day
Gypsy Biker
Magic
Reason to Believe ("ZZ Top" version)
Night
She's the One
Livin' in the Future
The Promised Land
Town Called Heartbreak (Patti Scialfa song, sung as duet)
Darkness on the Edge of Town
Darlington County
Devil's Arcade
The Rising
Last to Die
Long Walk Home
Badlands

*ENCORE*

Girls in Their Summer Clothes
Thundercrack
Born to Run
Waitin' on a Sunny Day
American Land

This Message Edited On 10.04.07

Akira
October 4th 2007


328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No Thunder Road? Lame.

I couldn't get tickets to see him, the closest gig was a couple hours away.
Fail.

JohnXDoesn't
October 4th 2007


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It would be nice if he replaced Thundercrack with Thunder Road. I don't know Thundercrack, but its one of his many unreleased things he started to put out with the Tracks album. or an obscure b side. i've heard it, i'm sure. but i don't recall it. they said many at the opening night gig seemed oblivious to it. strange place tro put it in the encore.

i will be going to see him. i have seen him before. greatly looking forward to it

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 5th 2007


3742 Comments


Rolling Stone is a tad over enthusiastic.


Yeah, RS has sort of a trend goin' on. If you've made great music thirty years ago, any album that you release will be instant classics. Nebraska and Born to Run are classics. This is a fine record, but not a classic.

Rolling Stone's 5 are a little different than our 5's really I think.


I dunno, i've seen people give 5's to some shitty albums.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean staff 5's which are I dont know I guess more official.

JohnXDoesn't
October 5th 2007


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i have but twelve 5's in all my ratings. a few could be arguable. some changes might be in order, but i really don't think i would under careful consideration.This Message Edited On 10.05.07

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 5th 2007


3742 Comments


i have like 30 5's, but they're pretty reputable bands. i mean like someone giving a Used or a Hammerfall album a 5.

And, yeah, i guess staff reviews are more reputable, cause you're all better than us.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The distinction between staff and the people who give indiscriminatory 5's are pretty great dude I dunno.

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 6th 2007


3742 Comments


you're just so much smarter than the rest of us losers.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy