Nightwish Dark Passion Play
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
August 26th 2008


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Better riffs too. Nightwish hasn't been riff oriented since Wishmaster which upset me quite a bit but still managed to create awesome music. Marco is overrated tbqh. He's great yes, but Anders Jacobsson from Draconian is incredible and ex Tristania write, Mortin Veland are my favorites. If you want away from the popppy stuff and more into darker doomier and heavier areas, get the new Draconian album and Beyond The Veil from Tristania.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

Poet
August 26th 2008


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't care about heaviness, I care about orchestration, which is why Emppu doesn't do a lot of riffs anymore.

BallsToTheWall
August 26th 2008


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Which is why After Forever rule. They balance the orchestration with great riffing, bringing heaviness and excitment to the table. Most of these female fronted metal bands suck ass because of the incredibly generic, uninspired shitty guitar playing. Thes bands more often than not play pop with metal influence. My only concerns with post Wishmaster Nightwish has been the guitars and the drums which were never that great to begin with. I want to see Emmpu unleashed but that probaly won't happen.

Poet
August 26th 2008


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well since Nightwish changed their genre completely into symphnoic metal, that awesome riffing from Angels Fall First to Wishmaster won' t make a return probably. Emmpu was amazing on Slaying the Dreamer and Beauty of the Beast from Century Child though. And Jukka on Beauty of the Beast is probably one of the best parts in the entire discography.

Altmer
August 26th 2008


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tbqh the new after forever is pretty boring compared to this, nightwish utilise a far greater variety of styles

BallsToTheWall
August 26th 2008


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree but I need riffs in my music, which is why i'd go with A.F over this. Dark Chest Of Wonders was pretty heavy and I let Century Child slide because of Slaying The Dreamer. Poet is still one of the coolest songs i've heard though.

Altmer
August 26th 2008


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ro-man-ti-cide

Poet
August 26th 2008


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dead Gardens, Planet Hell, Master Passion Greed.

BludgeonySteve
December 5th 2008


558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I fully agree. Everything they've done has been amazing but this takes it to a new level. I both anticipate and fear their next album.

Asiatic667
December 5th 2008


4648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's a great album, and I'm finding I prefer Annettes vocals. Tarjas are still amazing, but Annettes match the new songwriting so well, and she's just very accessable vocally.

Hawks
December 6th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I really liked this at first, but now it's just decent. Nothing special about this at all.

Poet
December 6th 2008


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This beats the Shat out of Hell out of anything any of your fav. bands have done.


see what I did there?

fireaboveicebelow
December 6th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nymphetamine beats both

see what I did there?This Message Edited On 12.06.08

BallsToTheWall
December 6th 2008


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Last Of The Wilds and Poet rules face, rest sucks balls.

Poet
December 6th 2008


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nymphetamine beats both

see what I did there?

First off you gave Nymphetamine and this the same rating. Secondly, that wasn't as original as my litte pun.

rest sucks balls.

You should get slapped in the face for not like the ending of Seven Days to the Wolves. lol.

fireaboveicebelow
December 6th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First off you gave Nymphetamine and this the same rating. Secondly, that wasn't as original as my litte pun.
nymphetamine is a 3.9 whereas this is a 3.3, and originality has no place in this! plus I wanted to help out Hawks since people abuse him a lot for no reason usually

though, balls, I'm surprised you dont like Whoever Brings The Night, that was such a turn on liveThis Message Edited On 12.06.08

kmagnum1x
January 25th 2009


260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this cd is a m a z i n g

EnCrypt.
February 18th 2010


882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Definitely has 5 star potential.

inspectorK
June 26th 2011


111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

poet and pendulum completely destroys

Poet
June 26th 2011


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well thank you, but I already knew that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy