Nightwish Dark Passion Play
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Poet
December 2nd 2007


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

LOL...I don't think this was a disappointment at all, and I am not a biased fanyboy. (Just because my name is a Nightwish song, doesn't make me a fanboy for the WHOLE album....I just love the song)

But I do agree that older Nightwish is better overall than the new Nightwish. This just owns musically though. Once is still their best overall release (It doesn't have a bad song on it), but this is really good.

BallsToTheWall
December 2nd 2007


44473 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Once is vastly overrated. As good as it is, it's not perfect, doesn't have the same replay factor that Oceanborn has. That album is solid, far better than their newer releases. Also, Century Child is crimminaly underrated, and in my opinion better than Once.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

Zoo
December 2nd 2007


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I actually like Once almost as much as Oceanborn. They're pretty close, imo. Century Child is quite underrated, I agree.

[quote=PoetandthePendulum]But I do agree that older Nightwish is better overall than the new Nightwish[/quote]
My point exactly. :D And I wasn't referring to you, specifically, as a biased fanboy.

Poet
December 2nd 2007


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0


Once is vastly overrated. As good as it is, it's not perfect, doesn't have the same replay factor that Oceanborn has. That album is solid, far better than their newer releases. Also, Century Child is crimminaly underrated, and in my opinion better than Once.


Oceanborn is indeed an excellent album, but Once for me is just superior. Maybe because I consider myself a symphonic metalhead. Once is the first album I heard from them, and is the only true perfect album I've heard. If Sputnik gave like 5.5 ratings, it would be my only one, lol.

As for Century Child, it's great too...In fact Nightwish doesn't have a bad album, lol.

BallsToTheWall
December 2nd 2007


44473 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I guess im saying this because Once is the last album I got from them, Ghost Love Score and The Siren are ace. Oceanborn-Century-Wishmaster-Once. You guys should check out Lacrimosa, symphonic,classical, orchestra. Just reviewed it, you guys might like it.

Bfhurricane
December 22nd 2007


6197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think this is fantastic. This is my first Nightwish album, got it today and Im loving it

racerX71
December 23rd 2007


73 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i just got it yesterday, and am enjoying it very much! Some of the songs are pretty poppy compared to older nightwish, but its catchy as hell.

Poet
December 23rd 2007


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have been listening to Once again, and I still think it blows this out of the water in terms of overall quality.

This though, has the greatest orchestral arrangements I have heard ever, from any genre.

I still think Nightwish should perform at Powell Symphony Hall when they come to St. Louis. One of the best orchestras in the world doing the actual orchestral parts instead of a pre-recorded one.

Bfhurricane
December 27th 2007


6197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ive listened to this enough to label it as a 3.5. Pretty good, but Im not too fond of the male vocals. Some parts of the longer songs tend to get a little boring, but I find a lot more redeeming parts of this album. Cant wait to see these guys

Poet
December 27th 2007


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not fond of Marco Hietala?? :o

That is crazy, lol. I love Marco to death, but he does overdo it a bit on here. His real ability is with his band Tarot.

The ending to 7 Days to the Wolves is just amazing!!



Zoo
December 27th 2007


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If you want great orchestral metal, Therion is where it's at.

Poet
December 27th 2007


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There is a difference between great and Legendary.

I heard The Siren of the Woods, but there is not an orchestral arrangement in any type of music to coexist with The Poet and the Pendulum. The vocals are not always top notch, but the orchestra pieces keeps my jaw glued to the floor during every moment.

Zoo
December 27th 2007


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I take it you have not heard Vovin. The Rise of Sodom and Gomorrah is at least on par with, if not better than, The Poet and the Pendulum. You'd be doing yourself a favor if you got Vovin, I guarantee it. ;)

Poet
December 27th 2007


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just listened to The Rise of Sodom and Gomorrah and it is indeed a Middle Eastern Orchestral assault, lol. I love Middle Easter music and think this is phenomenal, but I'll have to listen to more Therion to get the full feel of it.

But for now, PatP still owns.

BallsToTheWall
January 17th 2008


44473 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I admit, Poet And The Pendulum is a pretty awesome opener, might get this after all.

Altmer
January 17th 2008


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Zooyorker6, I like Therion, but this is just better.

Poet
January 17th 2008


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I admit, Poet And The Pendulum is a pretty awesome opener, might get this after all.


See.

and :o it's a Blastoise now.

Altmer
January 17th 2008


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

blastoise is inferior to like half the other water Pokemon out there

/still visits competitive Pokemon battling sites

Cesar
January 17th 2008


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Doesn't make you any less cooler.

Poet
January 17th 2008


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Doesn't make you any less cooler.


His choices on the Best of 07 list made me :D

So yeah, Altmer is still cool.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy